Bloodsucking Fiends

Bloodsucking Fiends
(Love Story #1)
by Christopher Moore
performed by Susan Bennett
Published 2008 by Recorded Books
9 hours, 18 minutes. Unabridged.
Rating: 4/5

Jody never asked to become a vampire. But when she wakes up under an alley Dumpster with a badly burned arm, an aching back, superhuman strength, and a distinctly Nosferatuan thirst, she realizes the decision has been made for her.Making the transition from the nine-to-five grind to an eternity of nocturnal prowlings is going to take some doing, however, and that’s where C. Thomas Flood fits in. A would-be Kerouac from Incontinence, Indiana, Tommy (to his friends) is biding his time night-clerking and frozen-turkey bowling in a San Francisco Safeway. But all that changes when a beautiful undead redhead walks through the door…and proceeds to rock Tommy’s life — and afterlife — in ways he never thought possible.

Hilarious! I actually read this book last summer. At the time, I planned to review it along with the two following it together, but I never finished the third one. I decided to listen to the first two before I got to the third one, as a memory refresher. After A Dirty Job, I was ready to listen to anything by Moore on audio. That’s why I declared him this month’s author spotlight.

I really do love this series. The characters are hilarious. I love Tommy and Jody individually, but definitely together. Tommy is adorable and insecure. He’s such a beta male (like Charlie in A Dirty Job). Jody is just bad ass after she becomes a vampire. I like that she’s older than Tommy. It makes for a really funny dynamic between the two of them.

Another thing that makes me love this series: the Animals! Those guys are so funny. The best group of guy friends ever. They’re always getting into hysterical trouble. I remember some of the things that happen in the next book, and I can’t wait for more of their shenanigans. Also, I can’t wait for Abby Normal.

Susan Bennett did a pretty good job with the narration. She has a pretty good delivery. I wasn’t crazy about her voice for Rivera. He’s sounds Russian or something… which he isn’t. In fact, I’ve always imagined him having an American accent. I guess I just assume he grew up in the city.

Great book for a laugh, and it really takes the vampire trend and makes fun of everything it can. Highly recommended.

This book contains explicit profanity, mild violence, sexual content, and references to necrophilia.

Source: Trussville Public Library. Trussville, AL.
Author’s website: http://www.chrismoore.com/
Purchase this book: Audible

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. New follower!

    Reply
  2. Awesome! Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,299 hits
