A Dirty Job

A Dirty Job
by Christopher Moore
performed by Fisher Stevens
published 2006 by Harper Audio
11 hours, 49 minutes. Unabridged.
Rating: 4/5

Charlie Asher is a pretty normal guy, the kind of fellow who makes his way through life by being careful and constant. And Charlie’s been lucky. He’s married to a bright and pretty woman who actually loves him for his normalcy, and who is about to have their first child.Yes, Charlie’s doing okay. That is, until the day his daughter, Sophie, is born. Just as Charlie turns to go home, he sees a strange man in mint-green golf wear at his wife’s bedside, a man who claims that no one should be able to see him. But see him Charlie does, and from here on out, things get really weird. . . .People start dropping dead around him. It seems that everywhere he goes, a dark presence whispers to him from under the streets. Strange names start appearing on his nightstand notepad, and before he knows it, those people end up dead, too. Yup, it seems that Charlie Asher has been recruited for a new job, an unpleasant but utterly necessary one: Death. It’s a dirty job. But hey, somebody’s gotta do it.

Gotta love Christopher Moore. He can make just about anything funny. He has a twisted mind, with some really dark humor, but he gets me laughing.

Charlie is hilarious on his own. He didn’t really need any help. Still, there are plenty of supporting characters that made me laugh. I particularly loved his neighbors. They were hilarious. Charlie also had a lot of heart. I loved his relationship with his daughter. It was so cute! There were great characters and some really funny dialogue and that’s what won me over.

I wasn’t particularly into the plot. It felt all over the place. I guess that’s kind of part of the craziness of Moore’s humor, but I really had no sense of what was going to happen next. I like that a little in books, but it’s frustrating when I feel confused a lot. It wasn’t distracting or anything. I just didn’t feel totally into the book the way I normally do when I listen to audio.

Overall, it’s got an pretty good, original plot. The characters are great and hilarious. If you want a laugh, pick it up.

Fisher Stevens did a great job with the voices. He was good with delivery too, which is important when reading humor. I was about a quarter of the way through before I realized who was reading. The dud from the Short Circuit movies and Hackers! How funny. Good audio.

This book contains profanity, sexual content, and violence. I suggest 18 and up.

Source: My bookshelf!
Author’s website: http://www.chrismoore.com/
Purchase this book: Book Depository | IndieBound | Audible

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I had read a few Moore novels but this was the first one I listened to in audio. I Really liked Fisher Stephens in this. Still want to relisten to Lamb.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,291 hits
