Hana-Kimi, Volume 2 by Hisaya Nakajo

Title: Hana-Kimi, Volume 2
Author: Hisaya Nakajo
Series: Hana-Kimi
Publisher: VIZ Media
Release Date: 11/2/2004
Length: 200 pages
Format: Paperback
Genres: Manga, Shoujo
Challenges: N/A
Source: Purchased
Purchase: Paperback

High jump champion Izumi Sano has realized that his slender new roommate Miyuki is a girl, but he’s decided to keep her secret so she doesn’t get kicked out of their allboys’ high school. Now they’re becoming good friends, without worrying about “guy” or “girl” stuff – or so Miyuki thought until Izumi kissed her one night! Before Miyuki has time to freak out, in steps a bigger problem: her American half-brother Shizuki, who’s not too thrilled to find out that his little sister is cross-dressing 24 hours a day. But handsome Shizuki has problems of his own…

Okay, officially love this manga. It’s so cute and funny! I love Miyuki. She’s sweet, but she also stands up for Sano. She believes in him so much that she even gives him the strength to overcome his injury. He has a psychological block now that he’s physically healed, but Miyuki’s faith in him drives him never to give up. It’s so sweet.

Of course, there’s some of the normal female obliviousness in this series. Sano knows that Miyuki is a girl. He keeps considering just telling her, but something keeps him from doing that. I imagine he can’t keep it from her for too much longer. She has no idea and still maintains her charade as a guy. When her brother comes to visit and finds out, he is not pleased. He threatens to take her home. But things have gotten confusing between her and Sano after the drunken kiss (that he apparently doesn’t remember). Now he’s training for a jump contest in which he must win if he wants to keep her brother from taking her back to America with him.

These first two volumes have been so cute, and there’s some really great humor. I love the school doctor. He’s hilarious. I’m sticking with this one. Guess I need to get the next volume now.

I really enjoyed it.

Previous volumes in this series:
Volume 1

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I read this whole series! It is so adorable, I wish you happy reading!

    Reply
  2. Oh, that makes me even more excited. It's already one of my favorites. I wish my library had it though. I rarely buy manga. I usually trade them on Paperbackswap, but no one has it. I guess I'll have to make an exception and buy the next one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
