Author Guest Post: Sheenah Freitas + Giveaway *CLOSED*

I’ve always been known to have vivid dreams. From as early as I could remember, my dreams would take me to different worlds and adventures. Sometimes I’d be a part of them and sometimes I was an invisible observer. But one fateful October night, something different happened. I had been randomly doodling a girl before I went to sleep, trying to come up with an original character I could draw in frilly clothing. She was cute, but I wasn’t sure if she was the one.

I went to bed and the character, Kaia, decided to prove to me that she was destined to be the one. That night, I was an invisible observer and there, in front of me, was Kaia in the flesh! I watched her gather blackberries for a pie and run through a forest, wondering: why was her village on fire? I witnessed someone stop her from helping her mother and found out it was a boy. But what was his name?

I woke up in complete awe and forced myself to focus on school, but Kaia and the mystery boy was in the back of my mind. I wanted to know more about them. That night, to my complete surprise, I dreamt of them again and thankfully, it picked up right where I had left it. The boy’s name was Reeze and there was a shrine he wanted Kaia to run off to. She didn’t understand what was going on; why the shrine? Neither of them, it seemed, knew why the village was on fire, but someone did and that someone was in a tree, watching them. He revealed himself as an assassin and his mission was to kill every single person in that village. Reeze protected Kaia as she fled to the shrine. Just as Reeze’s and the mystery assassin’s fight had come to a close, I woke up.

It was quite distracting to have to go to school that day, but I somehow managed to get through the day – barely. I wasn’t expecting the dream to pick up again that night, but it did. Kaia and Reeze were taken away by priestesses from another planet and this entire prophesy was revealed to them. Kaia had to protect this planet she had never heard of and the two were dumped off in the middle of nowhere. They didn’t know each other too well and it was sweet to watch them interact. All too soon, I woke up again.

It was during Social Studies that I pulled out a piece of paper and began to feverishly write down everything that I had dreamed of up to that point. It wasn’t my turn to take notes that day (my friends and I had a system where one of us took notes and let the others read manga) and it appeared to be a rather easy day anyway. That night, I nearly threw myself into bed early, hoping that I’d get to know more about Kaia and Reeze and their quest, but the magic was gone. It was a dreamless night and I was left with the beginnings of Kaia’s story. I took it upon myself to write it, because if I didn’t, then who would?

Visit Sheenah’s website

Giveaway!

The Chosen
by Sheenah Freitas

Kaia’s entire life has erupted in flames after an assassin appears and burns her village down. She’s rescued by a god from another planet who requests her help because she’s the descendant of their last savior. Together with Reeze — the only other survivor from her village and her appointed guardian — they set off on a quest to find the treasures of the gods in hopes of preventing a dire prophesy. Kaia and Reeze quickly meet the Tueors, a group of people many thought extinct, who are searching specifically for Kaia. Their intention: to protect the truth. As Kaia discovers more about the truth and her family’s past, she also learns of the Tueors’ bloody secret. Will Kaia be the savior the gods have been waiting for? Or will she let the prophesy come true?

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Thanks for an awesome guest post and giveaway! I really want to read this book 🙂

    Reply
  2. No problem. Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
