Lola and the Boy Next Door

Lola and the Boy Next Door
by Stephanie Perkins
Release Date: September 29, 2011
Publisher: Dutton Books
338 pages. Paperback ARC.
Rating: 5/5

Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion . . . she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit — more sparkly, more fun, more wild — the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood.

When Cricket — a gifted inventor — steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

Cutest book ever! I loved it. Why on earth have I not read Anna and the French Kiss yet? I will devour it immediately. If it’s anywhere close to as good as this one was, I’ll officially be in love with Stephanie Perkins’s books. Let me go ahead a warn you that I’m about to turn into a total fan girl for a bit.

Lola = amazing. She is so awesome. I love the costumes. What a bright and fun person! I wish she were my best friend. She would be so much fun to hang out with, and I know I’d never stop smiling around her. How could you not smile around someone with such personality? She is my favorite teen girl in a novel… ever. I’m serious. I can’t think of a single character who could outshine her. I adore her and I will read this book a million times in my life. I’ll probably be eighty one day, reading this book, remembering the first time.

Cricket = awkward awesomeness. So I read a lot of different books with many different sorts of guys in them. Sometimes, I read romance with big, bulky men. When it comes to real life? I love quirky boys. I always have. I’ve always been a little quirky myself, so I get along with quirky guys. Cricket is the dream guy for quirky-boy-lovers everywhere. He’s sweet and a little awkward, but can still be sexy somehow. I love it! Plus, he’s tall. I love tall (my boyfriend is 6’5″)

Everyone else was amazing too. They all had so much personality. They paled in comparison to the two main characters, in my opinion. But it wasn’t in a bad way. They were subdued in an appropriate way. It was the perfect background for Lola and Cricket. It’s definitely character driven. I love that! It’s m favorite kind of writing. If I keep going, I’ll just gush like a girl. I just really loved this. I felt like I could relate to it. Lola and Cricket felt like kindred.

Pick this up as soon as it comes out, and prepare to stay up all night reading. You won’t be able to stop.

Source: Around the World ARC Tours
Author’s website: http://stephanieperkins.com/
Purchase this book: Dutton/Penguin | Book Depository | IndieBound

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
