July Wrap-up

In case you missed them…

5 Star Reviews
Dreamfever
The Help
The Book Thief

4 Star Reviews
Faefever
Bloodfever
Uncommon Criminals

3 Star Reviews
Darkfever

2 Star Reviews
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

Total Reviews: 8

Reading Challenge Progress
2011 Reading Challenge: 74%
Get Steampunked: 13%
2011 Debut Authors: 33%
Off the Shelf: 16%
Support Your Local Library: 80%
Audio Book Challenge: 100% COMPLETED!
Whisper Stories in My Ear: 96%

Audio Book of the MonthThe Help by Kathryn Stockett
Performed by Jenna Lamia, Bahni Turpin, Octavia Spencer, and Cassandra Campbell
Surely, I don’t have to explain what this book is. I’m pretty sure I’m the last person in the world to read it (well, listen to it). Except my mom, who’s reading it right now because I made her. Don’t worry, she already loves it! We discuss it in the car on the way to work every morning. Anyway, even though I listened to some really great audio books this month, this is one of those books that will be read and remembered for years to come. I can’t wait for the movie!

Read my review here

Author of the Month – Karen Marie Moning
This has to be obvious. I blew through the Fever series like there was no tomorrow. Karen Marie Moning definitely gets this prize. I’ve now read all of her books, and I’m eagerly awaiting her next series. Who knows when it will be out, but I’ll be there to buy it when it is. In the meantime, I’ll work on getting my hands on hardbacks of all her current books. This could take a while…

To learn more about Karen Marie Moning, visit her website.

Read my reviews of her Fever series here.

Narrator of the Month – Phil Gigante
The narrator of Moning’s Highlander series, and the male voices in the last two books in the Fever series. His versatility with accents is just incredible. There are also little things I absolutely love about his narration. For instance, when the text talks about the character laughing, he always laughs before delivering his dialogue. It just gives it that extra touch. He also does a killer Scottish brogue. His voices for the Highlander series are downright sexy. Don’t eve get me started on Jericho Barrons. I love that growl he gives him. It’s perfect for his character. I think I’ve become quite the fan. I need to find more audio books he’s read.

See me rave about Phil in m Highlander and Fever reviews

Read an interview at Karen Marie Moning’s website and at The Examiner (they have audio samples. Just saying).

Lovely Covers

There weren’t that many amazing covers. What was wrong with me this month? What happened to my book cover judgement?

What I loved most about July…

Jericho Barrons. Nothing says tall, dark, and dangerous like Jericho Barrons. Why on earth did it take Mac so long to give in to her desires? I wouldn’t have lasted a second. I’m not big on fantasy casting, but I can dig David Gandy as Barrons. He definitely fits the bill. He’s all sharp edges and sleek looks, but also has that edge of roughness. And those serious eyes. I can see why others have chosen him as their Barrons. Bottom line: Jericho Barrons makes me want to purr… and read this book series all over again.

I had to give you one more picture. I can’t help it!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Nice blog, Laura! I love audiobooks and I was searching for some new book recommendation. That's haw I found your blog. I already put "The help" on my list because you made me very curios to read it! I also bought 10 more other audio books today from all you can books and I have a dilemma: which one to start with?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,315 hits
