Shadowfever

Shadowfever
(Fever #5)
by Karen Marie Moning
performed by Natalie Ross and Phil Gigante
Published 2011 by Brilliance Audio
19 hours, 57 minutes. Unabridged.
Rating: 5/5

MacKayla Lane was just a child when she and her sister, Alina, were given up for adoption and banished from Ireland forever.

Twenty years later, Alina is dead and Mac has returned to the country that expelled them to hunt her sister’s murderer. But after discovering that she descends from a bloodline both gifted and cursed, Mac is plunged into a secret history: an ancient conflict between humans and immortals who have lived concealed among us for thousands of years.

What follows is a shocking chain of events with devastating consequences, and now Mac struggles to cope with grief while continuing her mission to acquire and control the Sinsar Dubh- a book of dark, forbidden magic scribed by the mythical Unseelie King, containing the power to create and destroy worlds.

In an epic battle between humans and Fae, the hunter becomes the hunted when the Sinsar Dubh turns on Mac and begins mowing a deadly path through those she loves.

Who can she turn to? Who can she trust? Who is the woman haunting her dreams? More important, who is Mac herself and what is the destiny she glimpses in the black and crimson designs of an ancient tarot card?

From the luxury of the Lord Master’s penthouse to the sordid depths of an Unseelie nightclub, from the erotic bed of her lover to the terrifying bed of the Unseelie King, Mac’s journey will force her to face the truth of her exile, and to make a choice that will either save the world . . . or destroy it.

I’m so torn! I’m not sure if I should be thrilled about how amazing this series was, or I should be upset that it’s over. This is one of those that I know I’ll come back to again and again. I’ve already been talking it up to friends and co-workers. It was so awesome!

First, one thing I loved was the fact that it blew my mind constantly. I though I knew what was going on, but I didn’t. I guessed a total of two things right, and they were minor. There’s so much going on and so many characters, but it’s all so well done that I never felt overwhelmed by it, just psyched out of my mind at the awesomeness. I can’t say much though because it would be really easy to spoil everything. Just take my word for it and read (or listen!) to these books immediately, if you haven’t already.

Mac is one of the best heroines ever. I usually like the guys in books more than the girls because I have a tendency to dislike women. But I loved Mac. She’s so awesome. She can be a tad frustrating when she’s whining, but most of the time she’s awesome. And all the other characters are great too. They all have personality, something that makes them who they are. They’re complex and it makes all of it that much better.

Of course, Phil Gigante does a great job with the men’s voices. I love his deep, sexy growl. It’s perfect for these characters. Natalie Ross also does a terrific job. I think I enjoyed her narration much more than Joyce Bean’s in the first three books. Amazing and epic series. Great audio books. These are highly recommended!

This book contains profanity, violence, and detailed sexual content. I suggest 18 and up.

Source: Emmett O’Neal Library. Mountain Brook, AL.
Author’s website: http://www.karenmoning.com/kmm/
Purchase this book: Book Depository | IndieBound | Audible

Read my review of previous books in the series:
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,291 hits
