Dreamfever

Dreamfever
(Fever #4)
by Karen Marie Moning
performed by Natalie Ross and Phil Gigante
Published 2009 by Brilliance Audio
12 hours, 16 minutes. Unabridged.
Rating: 5/5

He has stolen her past, but MacKayla will never allow her sister’s murderer to take her future. Yet even the uniquely gifted sidhe-seer is no match for the Lord Master, who has unleashed an insatiable sexual craving that consumes Mac’s every thought—and thrusts her into the seductive realm of two very dangerous men, both of whom she desires but dares not trust.

As the enigmatic Jericho Barrons and the sensual Fae prince V’lane vie for her body and soul, as cryptic entries from her sister’s diary mysteriously appear and the power of the Dark Book weaves its annihilating path through the city, Mac’s greatest enemy delivers a final challenge…

It’s an invitation Mac cannot refuse, one that sends her racing home to Georgia, where an even darker threat awaits. With her parents missing and the lives of her loved ones under siege, Mac is about to come face-to-face with a soul-shattering truth—about herself and her sister, about Jericho Barrons…and about the world she thought she knew.

Talk about character development. The changes Mac has gone through after the events of the last two books are huge. It’s hard to imagine the sunny rainbow girl in the first book. She’s seen and experienced a lot since then, and it’s changed her for good. Her issues in Bloodfever were nothing compared to what happened to her in Faefever. And I suspect that’s nothing compared to what has happened to her in Dreamfever. But I’m not sure what’s happened because, of course, Moning has saved that information for Shadowfever. Okay, so actually I do know because I started the last book immediately in hopes that it wasn’t what I feared. And, of course, it was exactly what I feared. But if you’re reading Dreamfever and don’t have Shadowfever on hand immediately, you won’t know what’s happened. So I’m going to pretend I don’t know.

This series quickly became epic. It’s one of the best I’ve read, especially in the paranormal genre. Every book takes the reader to the next level. There’s more action, more passion, more pain, and more intensity. Once you think Mac has been pushed to her limits, she gets thrown for another loop and survives to tell the tale. I’ve never been as worried for her as I was at the end of this book though. Picking up both Dreamfever and Shadowfever at the same time was the best decision I could have made. Otherwise, I would have been so angry. Though, again, Moning has a note for the reader, assuring them that they won’t be disappointed and urging them to be patient because the end is near. I’m ready… maybe. I feel like I’ve been on the ride of my life with Mac and I’m torn between needing to know what happens to her, and wanting the ride to last. Don’t kill me for this one, but it’s almost as bad as it was with Harry Potter. I’m so reluctant to part with Mac and her world, but I know I can’t stop listening.

Oh, Jericho Barrons, you make me as weak in the knees as you make Mac. There’s just something about his arrogant attitude and possessiveness that make him so irresistible. Then, there are those moments when it’s so obvious he cares. The beginning of this series gave the me more evidence of that than I’ve seen yet. Of course, they still insist on acting like they don’t really care about each other when it’s painfully obvious that they do. Still, the banter between them is hilarious, especially when Barrons mocks her. I love it! But I sometimes get frustrated and want to shake both of them and tell them to open their eyes.

More Christian, more Dani, more Rowena (unfortunately), more V’layne (who’s acting startlingly human), and more of the creepy Lord Master and his creepy Unseelie. I love the abundance of characters. Sometimes, that can be overwhelming, but Moning is great at character writing so you really get a sense of each personality. I love where things are going, but I can’t say too much because I don’t want to give things away to those who haven’t read the series. Just know, if you do pick it up, you should go ahead and grab all of them. By the time you get to the last three, you’ll thank me for warning you.

I am loving Phil Gigante doing all the men’s voices. Barron’s sounds much sexier. Well, all of the men do. He’s so good with accents and deep, rough voices. It makes the audio more enjoyable. I like Natalie Ross a lot better, too. She doesn’t overdo the Southern accent. It sounds much more like what I hear every day in Alabama, rather than the Old South sort of accent Joyce Bean was doing in the previous books.

This book contains profanity, violence, and detailed sexual content. I suggest 18 and up.

Source: Emmett O’Neal Library. Mountain Brook, AL.
Author’s website: http://www.karenmoning.com/kmm/
Purchase this book: Book Depository | IndieBound | Audible

Read my review of previous books in the series:
Darkfever | Bloodfever | Faefever

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,284 hits
