Faefever

Faefever
(Fever #3)
by Karen Marie Moning
performed by Joyce Bean
Published 2008 by Brilliance Audio
9 hours, 50 minutes. Unabridged.
Rating: 4/5

He calls me his Queen of the Night. I’d die for him. I’d kill for him, too.

When MacKayla Lane receives a torn page from her dead sister’s journal, she is stunned by Alina’s desperate words. And now MacKayla knows that her sister’s killer is close. But evil is closer. And suddenly the sidhe-seer is on the hunt; For answers. For revenge. And for an ancient book of dark magic so evil, it corrupts anyone who touches it.

Mac’s quest for the Sinsar Dubh takes her into the mean, shape-shifting streets of Dublin, with a suspicious cop on her tail. Forced into a dangerous triangle of alliance with V’lane, an insatiable Fae prince of lethally erotic tastes, and Jericho Barrons, a man of primal desires and untold secrets, Mac is soon locked in a battle for her body, mind, and soul.

As All Hallows’ Eve approaches and the city descends into chaos, as a shocking truth about the Dark Book is uncovered, not even Mac can prevent a deadly race of immortals from shattering the walls between worlds-with devastating consequences…

Wow. I wasn’t expecting that. Every time I finish a book, I love where the series is going. It’s nice to get surprised once in a while. Moning definitely surprised me this time. I’m so glad that I’m reading these now, rather than when they came out. I’d be dying after that cliff hanger. I will say her note at the end was nice. I imagine that kept a lot of fans from going too crazy.

I can’t get enough of Mac and Barrons. Their relationship really makes these books. The mystery surrounding Barrons is almost excruciating. I want to know more about him! And I want more from him and Mac. Barrons keeps acting like he doesn’t care about Mac, but I don’t really believe that. There’s something more under that cold face he wears. I think we saw a little bit of it in Bloodfever, and I want to see more of it. He can be frustrating, but I think a lot of it is tough love. And I’m not going to take the love out, because I think somewhere down in there, he cares about her. He tramples her feelings constantly, but I feel like it’s in an effort to toughen her up. Or maybe I’m just romanticizing him too much, and he really is an asshole. We’ll see.

The plot continues to take interesting turns. There’s some character additions. We see more of Christian MacKeltar, which makes me happy. He sounds positively yummy. He makes me want to start the Highlander series all over again. I’m hoping to see even more of that family. Maybe an appearance by the twins or Cian? That would be nice. There’s also a lot more of Dani, and she’s just a little ball of kick ass. I love it. She’s hilarious, too. I love the bond that’s starting to build between her and Mac. I think both of them really need it. There’s not much I can say about V’layne. He eludes me almost as much as Barrons. He gives a lot more information than anyone else, but he also leaves a lot out, and, knowing him, those things are important. If there’s one thing that makes me angry, it’s Rowena. I wish some Unseelie would just kill her and put everyone out of her misery. She frustrates me more than anyone else in this series. Even Barrons.

I’ve gotten pretty used to Joyce Bean’s voice. The next two books are narrated by different people, so I’ll have to adjust again. The nice thing is that Phil Gigante is doing the men’s voices. I’m so giddy about that I feel like a fan girl. Phil Gigante has the sexiest voice and I can’t wait to hear him as Barrons. Things are getting hotter and crazier, and I’m excited about the next book. I know Moning will take it to the next level.

This book contains profanity, violence, sexual content, and rape. I suggest 18 and up.

Source: Emmet O’Neal Library. Mountain Brook, AL.
Author’s website: http://www.karenmoning.com/
Purchase this book: Book Depository | IndieBound | Audible

Read my reviews of previous books in the series:
Darkfever | Bloodfever

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,296 hits
