The Help

The Help
by Kathryn Stockett
performed by Jenna Lamia, Bahni Turpin, Octavia Spencer, and Cassandra Campbell.
Published 2009 by Penguin Audio
18 hours, 19 minutes. Unabridged.
Rating: 5/5

Three ordinary women are about to take one extraordinary step.

Twenty-two-year-old Skeeter has just returned home after graduating from Ole Miss. She may have a degree, but it is 1962, Mississippi, and her mother will not be happy till Skeeter has a ring on her finger. Skeeter would normally find solace with her beloved maid Constantine, the woman who raised her, but Constantine has disappeared and no one will tell Skeeter where she has gone.

Aibileen is a black maid, a wise, regal woman raising her seventeenth white child. Something has shifted inside her after the loss of her own son, who died while his bosses looked the other way. She is devoted to the little girl she looks after, though she knows both their hearts may be broken.

Minny, Aibileen’s best friend, is short, fat, and perhaps the sassiest woman in Mississippi. She can cook like nobody’s business, but she can’t mind her tongue, so she’s lost yet another job. Minny finally finds a position working for someone too new to town to know her reputation. But her new boss has secrets of her own.

Seemingly as different from one another as can be, these women will nonetheless come together for a clandestine project that will put them all at risk. And why? Because they are suffocating within the lines that define their town and their times. And sometimes lines are made to be crossed.

I could spend this whole review talking about how amazing this story is, or how much I loved the characters. And maybe I’ll say some of that, but it feels like it’s a little late for that. I would guess that most people have already read this book. I’m know I’ve joined late in the game. Still, I got there. This is the best book I’ve read all year. Definitely the best audio book I’ve listened to. I think I’ll talk a little about that.

For the review’s sake, let me just lay down a few thoughts about the story and characters. I’m really impressed with Kathryn Stockett. Just wow. What else can you say about a book this good? The story is gripping. It never let me go until the end. I was completely immersed in this story. And the characters jump off the page. Skeeter is one of my favorite women in literature. She’s got such a good spirit and a strong will. I loved that about her. She really made this book for me. I’m not trying to neglect Aibileen or Minny. They’re full of life and Minny constantly cracked me up. I fell in love with all of it.

If you’ve read the book, but haven’t listened to the audio, you should give it a listen before the movie comes out next month. It’s amazing. There are different narrators for Skeeter, Aibileen, and Minny. They’re perfect. It’s so well done. I promise you’ll love it. I can’t wait for the movie. I’m really excited about Emma Stone playing Skeeter. She’ll do such a great job.

That’s all I’ve got. This book is amazing. The narration is amazing. If you haven’t gotten around to this one yet, pick it up immediately.

Source: My bookshelf!
Author’s website: http://www.kathrynstockett.com/
Purchase this book: Penguin | Book Depository | IndieBound | Audible

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I absolutely adored this book, it was just fantastic! I am so glad to see that you loved it so much.

    Reply
  2. I've been wanting to read this but thought I wouldn't have time due to my review schedule, but it's great to hear that the audiobook is awesome! That's what I'll do!!!

    Reply
  3. Yes! It's awesome. I'll have to look out for your review.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,299 hits
