Nether

Nether
by Jason Beymer
Published 2011 by Lyrical Press
200 pages. E-book.
Rating: 3/5

One suburban night. One stubborn corpse. One golden opportunity.

Burklin had it all: a spacious two-story house, a shapeshifting wife, a wide open future. That is, until his father ripped out his soul and trapped it inside an opinionated dachshund. Now he’s lost everything, leaving him a slave on mop-up duty for a homicidal teenage demon. His father is sleeping with his ex, the possessed dachshund won’t stop talking, and the cleanup jobs keep getting messier. Burklin would give anything to have his life back–even if it means turning against his manipulative father and destroying their chance of winning the Nether’s Demon Lord Sweepstakes.

Opportunity knocks with a dead woman’s hand. When the demon’s latest victim won’t stay dead, the rules of life and death change. Freedom lies within Burklin’s reach, but to get it he’ll have to defy his father, the ex-wife he still loves, and the Nether itself.

Just how far is he willing to go?

Crazy! That’s the best way to explain this book. I don’t have much to say about it. It was good, but it didn’t blow me away. It took me a little time to get used to the humor. At first, I wasn’t sure I liked the voice, but once I got settled I realized it was appropriate for the book. It’s just not the kind of thing I normally read.

It has the feel and humor of True Blood. There’s a lot of sex or sexual references, while it also exploits the disgusting. There’s a lot of blood and corpses. It’s a really quirky book. I think to fully appreciate it, you need to have a sick sense of humor… a least a little.

I enjoyed the banter between the characters. It really carries the weight of the book. They’re hilarious in weird, sick sort of way. I especially love Burklin and his dog, Pearl. Some crazy stuff comes out of that dogs mouth, but it’s usually pretty funny.

It not really my kind of thing, but it kept me interested and made me laugh out loud. If you’re in the mood for some quirky, gross humor this is a good choice.

Prude Filter: This title contains sex, violence, human cuisine, a smart-ass dachshund, teenage demons, and fun with corpses (That warning comes directly from the Goodreads synopsis). I definitely suggest 18 and up.

Source: Book Lovin’ Bitches E-book Tours
Author’s website: http://www.beerandtv.com/
Purchase this book: Lyrical Press

Disclosure of material connection: I am a member of the Book Lovin’ Bitches Ebook Tours, and a copy was provided to me by the author. Although payment may have been received by Book Lovin’ Bitches Ebook Tours, no payment was received by me in exchange for this review, nor was there an obligation to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely mine and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book’s publisher and publicist, or readers of this review. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,291 hits
