Guest Post: Jamie Sedgwick + Giveaway *CLOSED*

Good books, free stuff… what a way to end the summer!

Laura has been kind enough to invite me to talk about my books here today. Being a writer, I could do that all day long. But it seems to me that it would be better to let my books speak for themselves. What I’d like to do is to give you a couple of samples. If what you read sounds interesting, then by all means follow the links to where you can download the rest. At the moment, all of my titles are only $.99 so what have you got to lose? After the samples, we’ll get to the free stuff:

Here’s The Tinkerer’s Daughter cover blurb (it’s a young adult steampunk/fantasy):

Breeze is an outcast, a half-breed orphan born into a world torn apart by a thousand years of war. Breeze never knew her elven mother, and when her human father is recalled to the war, he leaves her in the safest place he knows: in the care of a reclusive tinker.
The Tinkerman’s inventions are frightening at first -noisy, smelly, dangerous machines with no practical use- but when the war comes home, Breeze sees an opportunity. If she can pull it off, she’ll change the world forever. If she fails, she’ll be considered a traitor by both lands and will be hunted to her death.

And here’s an excerpt from the book:

Analyn’s brush hit the floor at the same instant the door flew open. Tinker and Daran burst in, their eyes searching for the cause of the outcry. Tinker saw me sitting on the counter and froze. He glanced at the cap and then back at me, and his eyebrows narrowed. Daran looked at his wife questioningly, and then followed her gaze to me and did a double take. His jaw dropped.
“What have you done, Tinkerman?” he said.
“Half-breed,” Analyn hissed. “He’s created an abomination.”
I glanced back and forth between the three of them, my heart in my throat. I didn’t know what an abomination was, or what the term “half-breed” meant, but Analyn’s cold stare gave me a wrenching feeling in my gut.
Seconds ago she’d been such a sweet, kind woman… the change had been instantaneous. It was terrifying to see her change like that. I had no idea what I’d done wrong, or how I could have incited such venomous anger. I wanted to crawl down a hole and die.
“Breeze, put on your hat and go wait for me in the wagon.” Tinker’s voice was stiff and controlled, but I could hear the anger behind his words. The situation was so unfair, so hard to understand. I wanted to break down in tears.
“But Tinker…” I started to object. I wanted to explain that it wasn’t my fault, that I hadn’t done anything wrong.
“Do it, now,” he said firmly. It was clear from his tone that I’d better do it. I grabbed my hat from the counter and yanked it over my head. I jumped down, and ran outside. Fortunately, I had the good sense to keep my fingers on that stick of candy.
I waited on the wagon, my heart thumping wildly and my eyes downcast so that no passing stranger might see my tears. A light snow had begun falling and the flakes drifted down around me, settling onto the padded bench beside me and onto the floor of the steamwagon, dusting everything in a thin layer of white. The steam engine in the back chugged along, idling and belching out clouds of hot vapor and releasing a loud hiss every few seconds.
I held out my hands, letting the flakes settle onto my palms where they dissipated almost instantly. I heard harsh voices drifting out through the mercantile doors, and I tried not to listen. I didn’t want to hear any more. I didn’t entirely understand what had happened, but I had enough sense to know that I was in trouble. And that, for reasons that were beyond my understanding, I was bad.

Now I’d like to introduce you to another young adult fantasy, The Darkling Wind:

Ben always thought his grandfather’s bedtime stories about the darklings were make-believe, but now the darklings have invaded his hometown and only Ben can stop them. When a mysterious package arrives containing his grandfather’s old journal and a crystal pendant, Ben knows he’s found the way to stop the darklings. Unfortunately, the journal is encrypted and Ben is running out of time. With the help of his best friend Sara, Ben must unlock the journal’s secrets and find a way to banish the evil darklings before they destroy the town and kill everyone he loves. But does Ben have the strength to face his greatest fears? If he succeeds, he’ll have to sacrifice everything just to survive. If he fails, Ben will not only lose everything he loves, he will also become the thing he fears the most. 150 pages

And here’s a sample:

The electricity was out that night, and it was by the light of a crackling fireplace that Grandpa first told me about the darklings. Thunder rumbled across the sky and lightning flashed in Grandpa’s eyes as he spoke.
I listened in rapturous and terrified wonder to his tales about the sinister creatures. They stole through open windows and unlocked doors in the dark of night, looking for children to steal. Whenever there was lightning, Grandpa said, it was a sure sign that the darklings were gathering. They lived in a storm and came forth on a wild and howling darkling wind.
My nightmares were haunted by Grandpa’s darklings when I was little, but as I got older I started to forget about them. I had decided that they were mythical creatures, like werewolves and zombies and vampires. They were stories made up to frighten little kids at bedtime. But I was wrong. I found that out the year I turned fourteen…

Did either of those sound interesting? I hope so. Now here’s your chance to get a copy for free! Laura and I will be giving away a free e-book of The Tinkerer’s Daughter. In order to enter the contest, here’s what you have to do: Follow Laura’s blog. And then follow the link to my blog, and follow it as well. Easy enough, right? At the end of the day, one winner will be chosen from the people who follow both this blog and mine.
Not enough free stuff? Okay, try this out. Right now I’m giving away 5 paperback copies of The Darkling Wind at Goodreads. If you have an account there, then just click on the contest entry box. If you don’t have an account, don’t worry. It’s quick and easy to make one, and well worth the time.
Still reading? Good, because I’ve saved the best for last. For the month of August I’ll be running a contest to give away a free Kindle wi-fi. And I don’t mean the cheapie one that comes with ads and spam, it’s the regular Kindle. The contest won’t officially start until August, but everyone who follows my blog will automatically be entered to win so you can get a jump on it now! The rest of the rules will be posted on my blog.

Thanks, Laura for having me here and giving me this opportunity, and thanks to everyone who took the time to look at my blog and my books. You guys rock!

Jamie Sedgwick’s Chronicles Blog
Jamie’s Amazon Page
Jamie at Barnes & Noble
Jamie on Smashwords
Jamie at Goodreads

CLICK HERE FOR GIVEAWAY

This guest post & giveaway are part of Book Lovin’ Bitches E-book Tours.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
