Follow Friday/Blog Hop

Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee. This is another meme that helps book bloggers connect. The featured blog this week is Angela’s Anxious Life.

“What do I do when I are not reading?”


Answer: I blog! I work… though I listen to audio while I’m there so I suppose that doesn’t count as not reading. I spend time with my family and friends. I watch True Blood and Tosh.O. I go to church on Sundays and most Wednesday nights. Mostly, I hang out with my boyfriend… or I will when he comes back from California in six weeks. When he’s around he takes up a lot of the time that I’m not reading, and sometimes he’s even sitting next to me when I am. The real question is “what should I be doing?” and the answer is “studying for my GRE…” which I’m not. Oops!

Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Crazy-for-Books and is an awesome way to for book bloggers to interact and find each other. Such a wonderful idea! There’s a new question every week that all the participating blogs have to answer. This week’s question is: “How/Where do you get your books? Do you buy then or go to the library? Is there a certain website you use like paperbackswap?”


Answer: I get them all kinds of ways. None of them are Amazon. I’ve been feeling a little anti-Amazon of late. The only real big-chain bookstore I go to is Books-a-Million. Originally, it was because it was convenient. Now I go and look around, but only walk out with something if I find good deals on hardcovers or a particular book I want. I try to support the local indie book stores. I often buy stuff from them. I’ve gotten some of my collectible stuff from Alabama Booksmith. They’re awesome. I also like to visit The Little Professor and Jim Reed Books. Little Professor carries good stuff and they have a used book section I browse for anything I might want. Jim Reed Books can be overwhelming, but is teeming with antique and collectible books. I recently took a trip to the nearby 2nd and Charles and found some used hardcovers I’d been looking for, so I’m planning to go back there.

I go to the library a lot. That’s where I get most of my manga and audio books. I occasionally check out other things, but not lately since I’m drowning in review copies right now. I use Paperbackswap and Goodreads Bookswap, as well. Usually for any hardcovers I’m trying to get my hands on or manga. I also buy e-books from Kobo and Smashwords. So, I get my books in a lot of places. Good question!

Some quick reminders: one week left for my 400+ Follower Giveaway at EARphoria. The Commander… giveaway ends next week, as well so make sure you enter.

Happy Friday! Please take a moment to say hello and follow. I will drop by and return the favor.

Next Post
Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. New Follower stopping by via Parajunkee's Follow Friday. Have a wonderful weekend!Holjo @ Pedantic Phookawww.pedanticphooka.com

    Reply
  2. TRUE BLOOD ROCKS! I've heard about Galley Grabs that you can get soon to be releasing books. Hapy weekends!Jezhtpp://jezsbookcase.blogspot.com

    Reply
  3. Hi!Just hopping by and following through. Study is reading (at least if you tell yourself that it might make it easier) :)Shelleyraewww.bookdout.wordpress.com

    Reply
  4. Hi & Happy Friday!I love your owls (My blog is full of them as well) :)I am a new follower.My FF, http://obsessionwithbooks.blogspot.comHave a nice weekend.

    Reply
  5. Hi,stopping by from the blog hop.Have a wonderfull weekendLaced Little Muffin's Reading Corner

    Reply
  6. I love true blood =DNew FollowerHappy Reading,Becky

    Reply
  7. Im a huge TB Fan 🙂 I even own a True Blood Mug A New Followerhttp://thephantomparagrapher.blogspot.com/2011/07/were-doing-book-blogger-hop_15.html

    Reply
  8. OMG! I've finally found another Tosh.O fan! Love the name of your blog. So creative.Am a new follower. My FF post: Lan @ The Write ObsessionHave a great weekend.

    Reply
  9. OK, I admit I am an Amazon Kindle Store junkie. Here's my HOP

    Reply
  10. I stopped by from the blog hopAnn

    Reply
  11. Love, love your blog. Too cute!New follower, friend!Nikki @ Books Most Wanted

    Reply
  12. Hopping through via the Book Blogger Hop. Love the title of your blog!

    Reply
  13. I’m seeing a pattern of book acquisition here. After all, there are just so many places to get books and so many different ways to read them.It’s hard to beat the library for price and selection but it’s even harder to beat the convenience of browsing BN or Amazon from a Nook or Kindle, hitting a button and reading the book you picked in about sixty seconds.As usual, my answer to this week’s Book Blogger Hop question is all over the map. Hop on over and read my multipart answer – http://www.howardsherman.netHoward A. Sherman, Implementorhttp://www.howardsherman.net

    Reply
  14. I don't do Amazon either. Two years ago I started tracking where my books were coming from. Please come see where I get my books.

    Reply
  15. Hopping through. Love the new blog. I'm a new follower. I admire you for doing this and Earphobia. I think I can only handle one blog.My Hop

    Reply
  16. Yay! I love Tosh.0, manga, and your blog.New follower :)~Enchanted Reads

    Reply
  17. I'm loving all the True Blood fans. I know there's a lot out there. Lan & Mendy – It's nice to see some Daniel Tosh fans. He's so funny!Alison – Thanks so much! It's actually been a lot easier. Having two blogs has helped me organize everything better, for some reason.Thanks for all the follows, everyone!

    Reply
  18. Your blog is just too cute! I LOVE owls — they're so adorable and it always amazes me that they can turn their heads fully around! I've actually never watched True Blood before, but it sounds really good. I think I might check it out soon! :)Hope you have an awesome weekend! http://diminutivemimi.blogspot.com/2011/07/follow-friday-7.html

    Reply
  19. Mimi, True Blood can be a little weird sometimes. Last season was crazy! I'm really liking this one though. You should try it out and see if you like it.

    Reply
  20. I listen to audio books sometimes when I am in the car. Hi! Just stopping by. Following you from Follow My Book Blog Friday Blog Hop. Would love a visit and a follow back on my blog: http://blog.writerslairbooks.com. Thanks! Nice to meet you!

    Reply
  21. Stopping by from the Blog Hop. Cute blog.NEW FOLLOWER.Stop by to visit if you can. I usually get my books from the library.Elizabethhttp://silversolara.blogspot.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,296 hits
