Love Story

Love Story
by Jennifer Echols
Release Date: July 19, 2011
Publisher: MTV Books
256 pages. Paperback.
Rating: 2/5

For Erin Blackwell, majoring in creative writing at the New York City college of her dreams is more than a chance to fulfill her ambitions–it’s her ticket away from the tragic memories that shadow her family’s racehorse farm in Kentucky. But when she refuses to major in business and take over the farm herself someday, her grandmother gives Erin’s college tuition and promised inheritance to their maddeningly handsome stable boy, Hunter Allen. Now Erin has to win an internship and work late nights at a coffee shop to make her own dreams a reality. She should despise Hunter . . . so why does he sneak into her thoughts as the hero of her latest writing assignment?

Then, on the day she’s sharing that assignment with her class, Hunter walks in. He’s joining her class. And after he reads about himself in her story, her private fantasies about him must be painfully clear. She only hopes to persuade him not to reveal her secret to everyone else. But Hunter devises his own creative revenge, writing sexy stories that drive the whole class wild with curiosity and fill Erin’s heart with longing. Now she’s not just imagining what might have been. She’s writing a whole new ending for her romance with Hunter . . . except this story could come true.

This is the first book I’ve read by Jennifer Echols. I’m not sure if I’m not accustomed to her writing voice or what, but this book wasn’t what I had expected. When it came to choosing a rating, I struggled with a two or a three. There were some things I liked about the book, but when it came down to it I really felt like it could have been better.

I liked the characters pretty well, though I liked Hunter more than Erin. They were realistic and there was some good development. That part was good. It was the dialogue I didn’t really like. There was just something off about it. Hunter remained a mystery to me throughout the book. Erin’s inner voice sometimes seemed to clash with the dialogue she took part in. I also think some of the themes weren’t very well developed. I’m not going to point any of them out because that would be bordering the line of spoiler. Basically, it went in directions I didn’t particularly like and it wasn’t quite what I expected.

That said, I did finish it. I rarely finish books I don’t like so it obviously had some appeal for me. Because of that, I think I’ll give Echols another chance. I’m still planning to read one of her other romantic dramas. We’ll see how that one goes. I guess sometimes expectations can get in the way of a story. I’ll try not to let that happen when I pick up another of her books.

Source: Around the World ARC Tours
Author’s website: http://jennifer-echols.com/
Purchase this book: MTV/Simon & Schuster | Book Depository | Amazon | IndieBound

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I haven't read any of Echols books yet either, but I think I'll start with a different book. Thanks for the review!-Dannahttp://friendlyreaderohyeah.blogspot.com

    Reply
  2. I keep hearing those very same complaints from other bloggers, so I've yet to pick up one of her books, even though they all sound so appealing. Thanks for being honest!

    Reply
  3. They really do sound so good. I'm not quite ready to give up since I've only read one book. I plan to at least try one more. Thanks for reading!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
