Author Interview: Michelle Franklin

Tell us a little about The Commander and the Den Asaan Rautu.

Commander Boudicca MacDaede and the Den Asaan Rautu fall in love and must find a way to remain together despite the regulations set in place by their respective nations: Rautu is a warrior of his people and is not permitted to have a mate, but when he meets the commander and fights by her side for nearly a year, he decides to take her as a mate and keep his relationship a secret from his leaders. When they are forced to go to war against a common enemy, the two nations unite, allowing Boudicca and Rautu to stay together.From there, the Haanta Series branches out to Rautu finding his lost brothers, King Alasdair of Frewyn finding a queen, Boudicca discovering things she never knew about her family, etc.

What inspired you to begin writing?

I’ve been telling stories and writing them down since grade 4. I think just an overactive imagination and the need for an outlet is was fueled me originally. I have always been inspired by everything around me and I have always believed that everything has a story worthy of being told.

Which books or authors have you found influential?

David Eddings’ Belgariad series is the one series I can say has driven me to write fantasy. I have always been writing romance and sometimes contemporary fantasy, but when I read the Belgariad, I knew I wanted to write high fantasy.

What book are you reading now?


I read classics mostly. I just finished Mansfield Park for the third time and I think I enjoy that book more every time I read it.

Is there a part of your writing process you find particularly challenging?

Stopping myself from beginning another book or another story when I have not finished the first. I know I must do this to stave off writer’s block, and it has worked tremendously well, but sometimes it will be 3 o 4 weeks before I return to the original piece.

Is there anything you need (music, snacks, silence etc.) when writing?

Peace, quiet, and Thomas Bergersen’s music. Sometimes I will need some contrast but walking to the local market does well in that respect. People and instances there inspire more chapters and stories.

Are you working on any current projects?

I am working on a new stand-alone book for the Haanta Series about a character who pops up in books 9 and 11. I often write prequel chapters to flesh out characters and sometimes they just happen to become their own novels.

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?

Tenacity, on all fronts. Be tenacious with your writing, with your querying and with your edits. Set aside time everyday for writing and do it. Don’t worry about getting published if that’s your goal. Just do it. Just write because you enjoy telling a story.

Best book ever?

Jane Austen’s Persuasion. When I first read that book, something in my brain clicked and I fad felt as though I was given a chance to see how Jane really felt near the end of her life.

Here is where you can find the book on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00564TGKA

This interview is part of Book Lovin’ Bitches E-book Tours.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,296 hits
