Uncommon Criminals

Uncommon Criminals
(Heist Society #2)
by Ally Carter
performed by Angela Dawe
Published 2011 by Brilliance Audio
6 hours, 47 minutes. Unabridged.
Rating: 4/5

Katarina Bishop has worn a lot of labels in her short life: Friend. Niece. Daughter. Thief. But for the last two months she’s simply been known as the girl who ran the crew that robbed the greatest museum in the world. That’s why Kat isn’t surprised when she’s asked to steal the infamous Cleopatra Emerald so it can be returned to its rightful owners. There are only three problems. First, the gem hasn’t been seen in public in thirty years. Second, since the fall of the Egyptian empire and the suicide of Cleopatra, no one who holds the emerald keeps it for long — and in Kat’s world, history almost always repeats itself. But it’s the third problem that makes Kat’s crew the most nervous, and that is . . . the emerald is cursed. Kat might be in way over her head, but she’s not going down without a fight. After all, she has her best friend — the gorgeous Hale — and the rest of her crew with her as they chase the Cleopatra around the globe, dodging curses and realizing that the same tricks and cons her family has used for centuries are useless this time. Which means, this time, Katarina Bishop is making up her own rules.

It’s so nice to see Kat and her crew again. I just love them! I was so excited about this book and I got the audio book I reserved at the library pretty quickly. It was just as good as the last one!

I got exactly what I was hoping for out of this one: more cons and more romance. After the last book, I thought surely that wouldn’t be the last we’d see of Kat, especially with the blooming relationship between her and Hale (at this point, I want to know his name as bad as she does). So we’re presented with a new heist, even more elaborate cons, and some romance. It was just right, too. Kat and Hale being 15 and all, I was never expecting hot and heavy. They’re romance has that hesitance to it that all relationship do at that age. It’s so cute!

The con? Genius. I was never expected less from this group, but it’s so much fun to read about a bunch of teenagers pulling one over on an adult. Since I never liked the antagonist from the beginning, all the better. If you haven’t read the first one, run out and grab both it and the new release. They’re fun, quick reads.

I’m so glad the narrator is the same. It angers me to no end when they switch up narrators on me in a series. Though I still think she sounds a little old to be Kat, I like her voice. And she does good voices for the rest of the cast (except, maybe she should work on the Scottish accent for the twins). It’s great on audio. Recommended!

Source: Homewood Public Library. Homewood, AL.
Author’s website: http://allycarter.com/
Purchase this book: AudiobookStand | Book Depository | IndieBound | Audible

Read my reviews of previous books in the series:
Heist Society.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I've only heard good things about this series. I need to get my hands on it! Great review :DDon't be a stranger; stop by my blog and say hi!Looking forward to hearing back from you,Cory @ Anti-Drug Reads

    Reply
  2. Yes, I definitely recommend it! This series is just so cute.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,315 hits
