Go the F–k to Sleep

Go the F–k to Sleep
by Adam Mansbach
illustrated by Ricardo Cortés
performed by Samuel L. Jackson
Published 2011 by Canongate
Audio published 2011 by Audible
32 pages. Hardcover.
6 minutes. Audio MP3.
Rating: 4/5

Go the F–k to Sleep is a bedtime book for parents who live in the real world, where a few snoozing kitties and cutesy rhymes don’t always send a toddler sailing blissfully off to dreamland. Profane, affectionate, and radically honest, California Book Award-winning author Adam Mansbach’s verses perfectly capture the familiar—and unspoken—tribulations of putting your little angel down for the night. In the process, they open up a conversation about parenting, granting us permission to admit our frustrations, and laugh at their absurdity.

With illustrations by Ricardo Cortes, Go the F–k to Sleep is beautiful, subversive, and pants-wettingly funny—a book for parents new, old, and expectant. You probably should not read it to your children.

Academy Award nominee Samuel L. Jackson (Pulp Fiction) rocks this mock bedtime story, capturing a hilarious range of emotions as the voice of a father struggling to get his child to sleep.

Beautiful, subversive, and pants-wettingly funny, Go the F–k to Sleep is a book for parents new, old, and expectant. Due to its explicit language, you probably should not play it for your children.

In case you can’t tell yet, this is a review for both the print edition and the audio edition of this book. I felt like I was four again, looking at my picture book while I listened to the audio. I used to do that with Disney stories before I learned to read.

So if you haven’t heard of Mansbach’s new “children’s book for adults,” you’re living under a rock. It’s all the rage. If you’ve been avoiding it because of the language, I urge you to try it anyway. At least, listen to the audio. I mean, it’s Samuel L. Jackson. How appropriate is he for a book that drops an f-bomb on every page? Absolutely perfect. Seriously, it’s hilarious. Even if your covering your mouth in shock over the profanity, there will be a small part of you ready to erupt into a fit of giggles.

As far as the print edition goes, it didn’t win me over so easily. I’m not really fond of the style of the illustrations. It just wasn’t to my taste.

Also, by the by, if you want to listen to Samuel L. Jackson read while looking at the illustrations, there is YouTube video for that. But I’m too lazy to link it up, so you’ll have to search for it.

Source: Audible & Books-a-Million
Purchase this book: BAM
Free at Audible!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I haven't looked at a physical print edition but I did watch the YouTube video narrated by Samuel L. Jackson and it was absolutely fantastic! I saw it after a particularly difficult night putting my 3 year old to bed and it resonated SO WELL with me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,315 hits
