Doodling

Doodling
by Jonathan Gould
Self-published 2011
37 pages. E-book.
Rating: 3/5

Neville Lansdowne fell off the world.

Actually he did not so much fall off as let go. The world had been moving so quickly lately and Neville was finding it almost impossible to keep up.

Doodling is an engaging comic fantasy which relates the events that befall Neville after he finds himself abandoned by the world and adrift in the middle of an asteroid field. Douglas Adams meets Lewis Carroll (with just a touch of Gulliver’s Travels) as Neville wanders through his new home, meeting a variety of eccentric characters. But getting away from the hustle and bustle of the real world turns out to be easier said than done, and Neville soon discovers that if he doesn’t take urgent action, the whole of the asteroid field and all of its inhabitants will be doomed.

I think the synopsis has a great description in “Douglas Adams meets Lewis Carroll.” Similar styles to the authors are definitely present in Gould’s charming story about a boy wandering an asteroid field, looking for a purpose, and finding himself a hero to the people living among the asteroids.

I was never into science, so anything that may have been incorrect or stretched as far as the universe or physics are concerned was over my head. I think that’s probably a good thing for me. I probably enjoyed it more than I would have if I had been questioning the science.

As it is, I think this is a fun story with an easy enough plot to follow and even a little depth. I liked Neville’s need to find his purpose. I think that’s a good message, and in a story that I think could easily be transformed into a good children’s book, it’s well placed. I almost wish it had illustrations of Neville as he meets all the strange people living on the asteroids. That would have made it the perfect experience of the story for me.

Source: Author
Purchase this book: Smashwords

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of this book from the author. I did not receive any payment in exchange for this review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book’s publisher and publicist or the readers of this review. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
