Reality Stinks

Reality Stinks
by Ashlynn Monroe
Published 2011 by Wild Horse Press
217 pages. E-book Review Copy.
Rating: 2/5

When Dina’s wellspring of reality television program ideas runs dry, she’s desperate to save her job. Dina’s friends are no ordinary friends. To save her job she comes up with I want to date a superhero. Unfortunately, the only superhero she knows is Zane Blair. He’s the only man she’s ever loved. Comedy hijinks ensue when you take one reluctant bachelor, ten attention seeking woman, and one very evil super villain

This is the type of review I think every book blogger hates to give. It’s never fun to criticize someone else’s work, and a lot of bloggers get bad feedback from authors when they do so. I think it could be really easy to find some nice things to say and gloss over all of the bad things. Th problem with that? It’s not honest, and I’ve always said I’d be honest when reviewing. After all, it’s just my opinion. The opinion of your normal, every day reader.

I think this book could have been good. The plot was solid, for the most part. There were a few moments at the end when it felt like the author was scrambling to tie up loose ends. The whole idea was a good one, though. If I were the type of reader that loved plot-driven books, that would have won this book a few extra points. Sadly, I’m much more into characters. Not that there was anything wrong with the characters. They were pretty good, too. Although I think Dina had an uncanny ability for thinking inappropriate thoughts in the face of danger, I liked her well enough. I don’t even think inappropriate is the right word. She just sometimes thought about petty little things while on the precipice of death. I found that a little de-humanizing, if that makes any sense. Zane was likable enough. He played the typical gorgeous pining ex. “I’ll never let anyone hurt you” and all that. It worked well for him, especially since he’s super-human.

The downfall of the book, for me, was the writing. I almost hate to say it because I think it’s one of those things that writers dread hearing. Still, I have to remind myself to be honest, and hopefully I won’t be brutally so. The writing just had this feeling of misdirection at times. Additionally, some of the humor fell flat. For example, Dina had to go to the restroom in a bucket because the office was so full during a casting call. That’s not funny to me, it’s just gross. Finally, there were some major grammar errors: spelling, words missing, incorrect sentence structure. I’m not even the type to be overly picky about grammar. I mean, I certainly don’t use perfect grammar, so I’m usually only distracted by it if I can pick it up. You can see how the combination of these issues caused this book to flop for me. I’m sorry it couldn’t have turned out better.

Source: Book Lovin’ Bitches Ebook Tours
Author’s website: http://ashlynnmonroe.com/
Purchase this book: Amazon

Disclosure of material connection: I am a member of the Book Lovin’ Bitches Ebook Tours, and a copy was provided to me by the author. Although payment may have been received by Book Lovin’ Bitches Ebook Tours, no payment was received by me in exchange for this review, nor was there an obligation to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely mine and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book’s publisher and publicist, or readers of this review. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Ah, that's too bad! And I agree, no one likes giving a bad review, but good for you for being honest!

    Reply
  2. I do appreciate the time you spent in reviewing my book. I’m sorry that other authors have had a hard time taking criticism. I’ve been very lucky to have some lovely reviews of this book and I know not every reader enjoys every book they read. While I can certainly say reading this didn’t brighten my day I’d like to thank you for the review. Writing is a learning experience and with every new title, authors grow. I hope in the future that you’ll try another of my books.Ashlynn Monroe

    Reply
  3. Thank you. I absolutely intend to try another of your books in the future. I was looking at some of them on your site and thought they sounded right up my ally. I hope you enjoy the rest of your tour.

    Reply
  4. Thanks so much Laura. Your blog is very cool and I'll be checking out your reviews again. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,291 hits
