Author Guest Post: Kim Richardson

Marked, Soul Guardians BK 1 by Kim Richardson

Marked, Soul Guardians BK 1

by Kim Richardson

ISBN13: 9781461017097

Sixteen year-old Kara Nightingale’s ordinary life is suddenly turned upside-down when she dies in a freak accident, and she wakes up in a strange new world with a new career—as a rookie for the Guardian Angel Legion. Kara hurtles towards dangerous missions with the help of her Petty Officer and friend, David.

But when she discovers a Mark on her leg, the entire Legion accuses her of being a Demon spy. Angels are dying, and David begins to pull away from her. Can Kara prove her innocence as she becomes the Legion’s only hope?
It’s going to take a miracle to save the Legion, and Kara’s luck has just run out…

Buy “Marked”, Soul Guardians BK 1: Amazon

Guest post from Kim Richardson, author of “Marked”:

 

My writing process
The idea of Marked was so much fun and original – I had to write it. It was one of those things I just knew I had to do. I have to play it in my head first before I put it on paper. When that’s done, I create an outline of the entire book. I flesh out the chapters and main plot points and add lots of conflict. Once it makes sense, I start writing up the first draft. I try to keep the ideas flowing—without adding too much detail then. If I don’t, I find that the flow of the story will suffer, and I’ll lose that magic that flows through my fingers.

Once I’m happy with the first draft, I’ll put it away for a day or two then I’ll start the second draft, with a better perspective. After I’m satisfied with the second draft, I send it to my editor. Then he usually makes comments and suggests changes, before going through a copy edit, which is what I did for my book Marked.

Since I decided to self-publish Marked after being rejected by the many publishers/agents, I had to proof it myself. I had to look for small errors my editor and I missed while working on the manuscript. And when I was satisfied with it, and with my editors approval—I published it.

About Kim Richardson (from goodreads profile):

 

I grew up in a small town in Northern Quebec, where I developed a wild imagination because—let’s face it—there was nothing else to do. I surrounded myself with art/books/animation and fell in love with fantasy novels and movies like, Labyrinth and The Dark Crystal. I loved to be transported to other worlds.

 

Years later, I left my little “hick town” and moved to the city of Montreal, where I studied 3D Animation. I became an Animation Supervisor for a VFX company, and stayed in the field of animation for 14 years.
 

Now, I’m a full-time writer, enjoying the country life with my husband and two Bernese Mountain dogs, Simba and Maggie. My children.

 

I write stories geared towards children because, let’s not tell lies, I’m still a 13 year-old at heart!
 

Visit Kim’s BLOG

Join Kim on the rest of her tour!

6/4 giveaway @ Just Another Book Addict

6/4 giveaway @ My Shelf Confessions

6/5 giveaway @ Seeing Night Reviews

6/5 excerpt @ The Bawdy Book

6/6 excerpt @ It’s All About Books

6/6 giveaway @ Books Glorious Books

6/7 guest post @ A Chick Who Reads

6/8 guest post @ Reader Girls

6/8 guest post @ It’s All About Books

6/9 excerpt @ A Chick Who Reads

6/9 guest post & excerpt @ Read My Mind

6/9 excerpt @ Ramblings of a (Future) Librarian

6/10 giveaway @ Ramblings of a Teenage Bookworm

6/10 guest post @ Ramblings of a (Future) Librarian

6/10 guest post @ My Neurotic Book Affair

6/10 interview @ Splash of Our Worlds

6/10 interview @ ComaCalm’s Corner

6/11 interview @ Ramblings of a Teenage Bookworm

6/12 giveaway @ Star Shadow

6/12 guest post @ The Bawdy Book

6/13 guest post @ Lisa’s World of Books

6/14 excerpt @ My Neurotic Book Affair

6/14 giveaway @ Lisa’s World of Books

6/15 excerpt @ Sara Is Reading What?

6/15 giveaway @ Splash of Our Worlds

This guest post is part of Book Lovin’ Bitches E-book Tours.
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,296 hits
