Guest Post: Natasha Larry

The Allegory of the Cave

I attended Graduate school at East Tennessee State University on a full scholarship, and when I asked why I had been given this scholarship, the answer was my writing. More specifically, it was the essay I’d written as part of my application package and even more specifically, that I had the courage to call all Historians and students of history undeniably insane.

What does this have to do with young adult/paranormal fiction, and more specifically, with where I got my ideas for Darwin’s Children? Well, it all comes down to an awkward little muse that came to me, because of my love of history, rooted in the catacombs of Ancient Greece. He’s an ugly jerk off that pissed a lot of people off by standing outside of the market place and asking people annoying questions such as Why and Are you sure about that? His claim is that one can work out any of life’s infinite mysteries by using a method, which eventually became named after him, called The Socratic method.

His name was Socrates, and most of his teachings can be found in his most notable student, Plato. Plato’s most infamous work is entitled The Republic and it happens to be one of my favorites. Up until now, historians have thought this to be a political treatise of sorts, about why certain people are more apt to rule, but, for me, it’s all about super humans.

In Darwin’s Children, my protagonist, seventeen year old Jaycie Lerner, has to come up with a way to reveal to her best friend, Haylee Mitchell, that she happens to be a super powered telepath with extraordinary telekinetic abilities. If that isn’t enough, she must also reveal to Haylee that she, too, is super human, with an ability so cool, I can’t tell your readers about it…I’m afraid I’ll have to force them to buy the book.
Haylee’s reaction is what you would expect: terror and denial. I mean, how would you react if you saw a table fly across the room at the alleged mental command of your best friend?

According to Jaycie, her reaction is a justification for the “noble lie.” At this point, readers will find themselves in chapter sixteen of the novel, The Allegory of the Cave, in which Jaycie uses Plato’s words to sum up her friend’s reaction to learning that there are super humans in existence.
Suppose now that you suddenly turn and make them look with pain and grief to themselves at the real images, will they believe them to be real? Will not their eyes be dazzled, and will they not try to get away from the light, to something to behold without blinking?

Her father rolls his eyes, as people often do around Jaycie, for some reason, grins fondly, and assures her Haylee will come around before quoting some more Plato.
Some time will pass before they get the habit of perceiving at all; but we say that the faculty of sight was always there, and that the soul only requires to be turned towards the light.

In case you don’t speak fluent geek, a major theme in Darwin’s Children is about coming out of the cave to look into the light of the real world. The reality is that super humans do exist and they are a part of a vast, and quickly evolving supernatural world.

You can view a free sample on my website: www.natashalarry.com

Author Blog: www.paranormalwire.blogspot.com

Twitter: @natashalarry

This guest post is part of Book Lovin’ Bitches E-book Tours.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Thank you for hosting me =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,291 hits
