Ripple

Ripple
by Mandy Hubbard
Release Date: July 21, 2011
Publisher: Razorbill/Penguin
260 pages. Paperback ARC.
Rating: 4/5

Lexi is cursed with a dark secret. Each day she goes to school like a normal teenager, and each night she must swim, or the pain will be unbearable. She is a siren – a deadly mermaid destined to lure men to their watery deaths. After a terrible tragedy, Lexi shut herself off from the world, vowing to protect the ones she loves. But she soon finds herself caught between a new boy at school who may have the power to melt her icy exterior, and a handsome water spirit who says he can break Lexi’s curse if she gives up everything else. Lexi is faced with the hardest decision she’s ever had to make: the life she’s always longed for – or the love she can’t live without?

I was extremely apprehensive of this book. I haven’t bought into the whole mermaid & siren thing. This is the first book with the theme I’ve read. I have to say, it was pretty good for what it was. I was expecting it to be too cheesy or utterly ridiculous. It was quick and easy and I have to admit I enjoyed it.

The characters are all likable enough. Lexi, understandingly enough, has a major wall up around herself. She’s shut out the whole world in order to protect those she cares about. I suppose it’s pretty noble of her to seclude herself in the best interest of others. That’s probably what made me like her. Something else that won me over about her character, though it didn’t occur until late in the book, were her serious questions about love. She finds herself questioning why a male character in the book says he loves her—is it because of what he can gain from her or because of her personality? A teen who thinks seriously about these kinds of things is always good. Cole won me over with his complete and total awesomeness. Why didn’t I know guys like this in high school? He pushes Lexi to let down her emotional walls from the start. Any guy who can be that understanding and sensitive about a girls problems is a catch. He could see right through Lexi’s ice queen façade, to the hurting person within and urged her continually to let her pain go and move on. It was pretty sweet.

The plot is pretty straight forward, with a small twist in the end. I had to admit I saw it coming. Maybe not all of it, but I had a major feeling that something was wrong. As well I should have since Hubbard throws in a few clues to keep the reader wary. It’s an engaging enough plot to keep a reader glued to the book until the end. I had committed myself to reading a couple of chapters at a time, and doing some cleaning in between. I found myself disregarding my rule, instead devouring the book in two sittings on the same day.

The bottom line? If the plot sounds like something you’d enjoy, pick it up. If you’re semi-interested, but a little wary of the siren things, go for it anyway. You might like it. If you hate mermaids and sirens, maybe you should skip this one. I enjoyed it, and I can see the appeal for teens who’d like something light and out of the ordinary.

Prude Filter: There’s nothing really inappropriate in this one. There is the insinuation of sex in one scene, though no real claim to it. There’s a little violence—strangling & drowning. Honestly, I’d hand it to my 13-year-old (if I had one).

Source: Around the World ARC Tours
Author’s website: http://www.mandyhubbard.com/
Purchase this book: Razorbill/Penguin | Book Depository | IndieBound

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Thank you for this review, l am totally the same with mermaids but have found lately that l am enjoying a few mermaid books, this may be one l need to try =)

    Reply
  2. This is the second review of a mermaid book that I have read today. I don't know how I feel about this genre as I have never actually read a mermaid book – I guess I'm interested?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,315 hits
