Fierce Dawn

Fierce Dawn
by Amber Scott
Published 2011 by Tholden Press
384KB. E-book.
Rating: 5/5

Snarling teeth, glowing eyes. Someone–something–is after her.

The man who haunts her dreams enters her reality, claiming she’s transforming into a changeling–not quite immortal but no longer human.

Battlelines are drawn and blood spills as the two fight not only for her life, but for mankind’s as well.

Who knew wings could be so sexy? I was reading a review of this on Amazon. The subject line was “Move over, Edward! Hello, Elijah!” I could agree more. I mean, Edward has been out of my mind for quite some time (eagerly replaced by Peeta, Kartik, Po, and, I admit it, Mr. Rochester). Elijah is really battling for the spot though. I’ve read one other of Amber’s books (Irish Moon, read the review here), and I really loved it. I was so eager to read this when she offered it. It blew Irish Moon out of the water for me. I mean, they’re entirely different books, and not really comparable. Still, I felt more connected to the characters in this book.

The plot is maybe a little confusing, at first. Once some explanations are put forth, the action begins and the story really progresses. There’s some pretty good character crafting going on, and that’s something I love more than a good plot. It lies mainly in Elijah’s character, and also a little with the relationship between Sadie and her sister. I think good character development is a crucial part of a good book and a good writer. That’s really what won me over with this one. Of course, the bad ass fights and X-men-like powers didn’t hurt. There’s a particular quote I read about this book that I think describes it perfectly.

“X-men action meets True Blood heat.”
-Ann Charles
Nearly Departed In Deadwood, 2010 Daphne Winner

That is an excellent observation. The other realm and the world and creatures within are enough to captivate any reader, even without all the awesome action and very sexy romance. This one really is a winner. I noticed someone had listed this book in a “New Authors to Watch For” list on listopia. I couldn’t agree more. I think Amber is a very talented author. She has an incredible imagination and great writing skills. She crafts her stories well, and I urge any reader to check out her stuff.

Prude Filter: This book contains profanity, violence, and sexual content. I suggest 18 and up.

Source: Author
Author’s website: http://amberscottbooks.com/
Purchase this book: Digi Books Cafe | Smashwords

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of this book from the author. I did not receive any payment in exchange for this review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book’s publisher and publicist or the readers of this review. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
