Hana-Kimi, Volume 1 by Hisaya Nakajo

Title: Hana-Kimi, Volume 1
Author: Hisaya Nakajo
Series: Hana-Kimi
Publisher: VIZ Media
Release Date: 7/7/2004
Length: 184 pages
Format: Paperback
Genres: Manga, Shoujo
Challenges: 2011 Support Your Local Library Challenge
Source: Library
Purchase: Paperback

Japanese-American track-and-field star Mizuki has gotten herself a transfer to a high school in Japan…but not just any school! To be close to her idol, high jumper Izumi Sano, she’s going to an all-boys’ high school…and disguising herself as a boy! But as fate would have it, they’re more than classmates…they’re roommates! Now, Mizuki must keep her secret in the classroom, the locker room, and her own bedroom. And her classmates – and the school nurse – must cope with a new transfer student who may make them question their own orientation…

This reminds me of that 80’s movie where the girl starts at a new school as a boy and falls for her best friend there. Except, she totally flashes her breasts in that movie and I don’t think Mizuki is going to do that. Anyway, that’s why I picked it up in the first place. It sounded like it might be kind of cute. Okay, so the fact that Mizuki disguised herself as a boy and moved to Japan just to be near her idol is really pushing the lines of stalking. Still, Izumi takes it in stride, and recognizes pretty quickly that she’s not a guy. I mean, it would be difficult to avoid since they live together. There’s also this silly best friend character (who’s name escapes me right now) who’s questioning his sexuality because he thinks Mizuki is so cute. It’s nice for comic relief. All-in-all, it was a cute volume, and I think I’ll read the rest of the series after I finish Chobits.

There’s also a little one-shot in the back called The Cage of Summer, or something to that effect. It was kind of sweet, but definitely a serious romance, which isn’t really my style. I like humor in my manga.

I really enjoyed it.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,291 hits
