Black Butler, Volume 1 by Yana Toboso

Title: Black Butler, Volume 1
Author: Yana Toboso
Series: Black Butler
Publisher: Yen Press
Release Date: 1/26/2010
Length: 192 pages
Format: Paperback
Genres: Manga, Shonen
Challenges: N/A
Source: Library
Purchase: Paperback

Just a stone’s throw from London lies the manor house of the illustrious Phantomhive earldom and its master, one Ciel Phantomhive. Earl Phantomhive is a giant in the world of commerce, Queen Victoria’s faithful servant… and a slip of a twelve-year-old boy. Fortunately, his loyal butler, Sebastian, is ever at his side, ready to carry out the young master’s wishes. And whether Sebastian is called to save a dinner party gone awry or probe the dark secrets of London’s underbelly, there apparently is nothing Sebastian cannot do. In fact, one might ever say Sebastian is too good to be true… or at least, too good to be human…

This manga was so much fun. I love the style. Sebastian and Ciel are awesome and so interesting. I’m eager to read more about how Ciel got to this point. He takes making a deal with the devil to a pretty literal level. The gothic theme of the plot and style is really eye-catching. Some of the images are just gorgeous. When it comes down to it, Sebastian is just bad ass. He does his best to keep Ciel safe in different ways. The question is, what exactly is the price Ciel has to pay? I’m eager for more. I’m waiting for my reserved copy of volume two to come in at the library. Now I’m off to watch the first episode of the anime!

Just a heads up: you’ll probably see a lot more manga in the next year. I joined an event in a Goodreads group called a year of manga, where I try to read a volume of manga a day. This is the first volume that will count toward that.

This manga is rated Older Teen by Yen Press.

A new favorite!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Yep, I really loved this one as well! I love a good Excellent Butler, and the twist of having him be the devil was pretty amazing! The art is wonderful, too, and the humor of the useless servants keeps things light.

    Reply
  2. This is a fun series, isn't it? I love the art, and Sebastian rocks!

    Reply
  3. Wow, a manga volume a day! That's quite a challenge!I love this series, too. Sebastian and Ciel are fantastic, though the servants did wear on me a little after a few chapters. Can't wait to see what you think of the next volume! Kat @ A Myriad of Books

    Reply
  4. Very cool to read your thoughts on this. I ordered the first 4 volumes for my library, but I haven't had a chance to read any of them yet (they're always checked out, which is a good thing). 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,296 hits
