Author Guest Post: Tony Bertauski

The Discovery of Socket GreenyA dandelion seed takes flight. The journey can last days, or seconds. Landing, it takes root. Emerges. Foliage reaches for the sun, manufacturing food from sunlight. With time, it grows bigger. Stronger.

And nothing seems to kill it.

A story took root in my head, much the same. It was about growing up, trying to understand the rules. Why does life suck? Why are we even here?

What’s this all about anyway?

The character’s name was Socket Greeny. I don’t know why. I tried to change it once because sounded so video game-ish, but its root was strong. Socket had a story to tell. He landed on me to tell it. Little did he know I was a rocky shore. I wasn’t a fiction writer, I was technical. Informational. I didn’t know anything about world-building and story arcs.

But I learned. Patient like a seed waiting for moisture in the desert, Socket Greeny waited until I did. Slowly, the story unfolded. Slowly, I understood.

His life was not ordinary. But his story was one all of us can understand. The struggle of daily life. The pressure it brings. The responsibility. The strength to serve life.

Life.

This is a teenage boy’s story. It’s not flowery. Not poetic. It kicks ass.

But no less important.

Socket Greeny has a story to tell. First, there is discovery. Second, training. Third, there is legend.

All you have to do is listen

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,296 hits
