April Wrap-up

In case you missed them… here are the links to my April reviews

5 Star Reviews
Future Diary (Volume #3)
Future Diary (Volume #4)
Cleopatra
Future Diary (Volume #7)
Kiss of the Highlander
Future Diary (Volume #8)
Future Diary (Volume #9)

4 Star Reviews
Heartsblood
A Walk in the Snark
Future Diary (Volume #5)
Future Diary (Volume #6)
The Highlander’s Touch
Bronwyn’s Stand
Miss Hildreth Wore Brown

3 Star Reviews
Desperate Desires

Total Reviews: 13

Reading Challenge Progress
Get Steampunked: 7%
2011 Debut Author: 33%
Off the Shelf: 8%
2011 E-books: 65%
2011 Audiobooks: 90%
Whisper Stories in My Ear: 46%
Support Your Local Library: 44%

Best of the Month I’m basing this list off the one I did for my best of 2010. I thought it might help me narrow down my decisions at the end of the year. Also, I added nonfiction! I’m so proud of myself! Hopefully, I can keep it up.

Jane EyreOverall – Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë. I don’t like to review classics, so you won’t find a review of this book. However, I spent most of the month making my way through this book. I really loved it. It has really given Wuthering Heights a run for its money. It may be my new all-time favorite book. I just love the passionate natures of Jane and Mr. Rochester. They’re my favorite couple. 

Young Adult – I haven’t read any young adult novels this month so I’ll skip this category for now. I’m sure it will be back next month.

HeartsBlood (Praxis)Fantasy/Paranormal – Heartsblood by Carolyn McCray had such original ideas. I was captivated by the book and completely engulfed in its story. It has a really great paranormal plot, and it still left so many things to be explained in the next book. I was very excited to find out that it will be a series. I’m ready for more of this complicated couple.

Future Diary Volume 6Manga – Future Diary by Sakae Esuno just keeps getting crazier. I’m really loving it though. If I had a little more time I would be up to date with the series. I only have three left of the published volumes. Surely I can find a few hours to finish those. Then, I think I’ll start Black Butler.

Jane EyreRomance – Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë. I’m really into classic romance. I’ve read all of Jane Austen’s novels. I loved Wuthering Heights. It was only a matter of time before I picked this book up. I never thought I would love a couple more than Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy, but they have nothing on Jane and Mr. Rochester. There’s such a fierceness in their love that I couldn’t get enough of. I think it would be impossible not to fall in love with Mr. Rochester, crazy wife or not. It’s no surprise to me that this is a classic. It really is timeless. I need to go see the new movie ASAP.

Cleopatra: A LifeNonfiction – Cleopatra: A Life by Stacy Schiff was my first real crack at nonfiction and I really enjoyed it. I learned so much from this book and really found a new interest in history.

Audiobook – Cleopatra: A Life by Stacy Schiff. I’m not sure I would’ve made it through this book had I read it in print. I think it would have been so slow-going that I would have given up. That’s why I’m so glad I won the audiobook. It really helped.

Desperate Desires (A Sweet and Spicy Novella)2011 Release – Desperate Desires by Terri Wolffe was so much fun. I will say it’s very explicit, but I really connected with the characters and found that I cared about them and the outcome of their relationship. Terri said in her interview that she’s planning to write more about these two, so that’s exciting.

Cover – Desperate Desires by Terri Wolffe. I just love that cover. It’s so gorgeous and sexy. What more could you ask of a romance cover?

Most Disappointing – I haven’t really been disappointed by anything this month. That’s always nice.

Kiss of the Highlander (The Highlander Series, Book 4)Series – I’m still working on the Highlander series by Karen Marie Moning. I’ve been loving this series. When I begin one audiobook, I become totally addicted until I get to the end. I love how they’re all their own story, but still connected by one or two characters. They’re so much fun. Ms. Moning definitely has a great sense of humor.

Author – Karen Marie Moning really has me hooked on her Highlander series. When I’m finished with it, I’ll move on to her Fever series. I’ve heard great things about it and I know I like her writing and style. I can only hope those audiobooks are read by Phil Gigante too because he’s one of my favorite voice actors.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,291 hits
