A Walk in the Snark

A Walk in the Snark
by Rachel Thompson
Published 2011 by Smashwords
110 pages. E-book.
Rating: 4/5

Rachel Thompson, author of A Walk In The Snark, writes non-fiction that makes you laugh and think. Stranded in Orange County, CA (the OC), she’s a redhead in a sea of blondes, who decided to use her voice as a way to differentiate herself from the SUVs and fake boobs that surround her every day. This chick is all real and isn’t afraid to say so.

Her Mancode and Chickspeak essays speak volumes about how men and women communicate (or fail to), while her more serious pieces about parenting, work, and lost love will tear at your heart.

With her trademark snarky humor and candor, Rachel whisks you into her caffeinated world where she deconstructs common phrases (I’m Fine) and makes up words (Refrigeratoritis) in order to help dudes understand chicks…and vice versa.

First off, this is definitely not my usual thing. I was taking a step out of my comfort zone with this one. It was nice to get my feet wet in new waters though. I have to say, Rachel is pretty funny. I’m not really into the chick-lit thing, but I enjoyed Rachel’s musings on men and women and the hilarity that ensues when putting them in the same house (or sometimes just the same room).

I found myself nodding my head and really understanding all the things she was talking about when it came to men. The section about differing temperatures couldn’t have been anymore spot on. I will never understand Ben’s ability to sweat in 30 degree weather. I’m astounded by his ability to make it through a summer in the deep South without internally combusting. Then there’s the section on a man’s inability to understand clothes and makeup. Yes, yes. I know you think I’m beautiful without all that makeup, but I love eyeliner so back off! And don’t even get me started on how many times I’ve had to explain why I need to buy a new dress. I’m so sorry I can’t fit into the same clothes I wore in high school like some people. Actually, I take that back. I’m not sorry at all. There’s no way I’d wear the same clothes I wore in high school.

These are the kinds of things you can expect from Rachel’s collection of essays. But let me go ahead and tell it’s not all about making fun of guys. Rachel has some pretty good insights into keeping a good relationship with a significant other. She also throws in some heavy stuff alongside her snarky observations.

Go pick up A Walk in the Snark by Rachel Thompson today at Amazon and help us drive her book up the best seller list!

Prude Filter: This book contains a little profanity. It should be fine for young readers, but they probably won’t relate to it.

Source: Best Seller for a Day
Author’s website: http://RachelintheOC.com/
Purchase this book: Amazon | Smashwords

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of this book from the Indie Book Collective. I did not receive any payment in exchange for this review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book’s publisher and publicist or the readers of this review. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
