Heartsblood

Heartsblood
by Carolyn McCray
Published 2010 by CreateSpace
266 pages. E-book.
Rating: 4/5

Synopsis
A woman of science. A man of magic. Hunted for their HeartsBlood. Dr. Salista Calon knew that she worked in a bad part of San Francisco, but nothing could prepare her for the horror that awaited her at the hospital. After her best friend is slaughtered, Salista’s only clue is a mysterious man dressed in leather. A man who claims to know not only the secret behind her best friend’s death, but the key to controlling a force that could rend both their worlds… Blood Magic. Drawn into a world beyond her comprehension and control, Salista must choose between science and magic. Her mind and her heart. HeartsBlood… A love taken to its dangerous conclusion

Review
I was so pleasantly surprised by this book. I wasn’t sure it would be up my ally. Though it isn’t the kind of thing I normally read, it was so original that I became captivated by the story pretty quickly. And let’s face it, I have a thing for alpha males.

I found this one to be a little more plot driven than character driven. I don’t have any complaints about the characters, they just didn’t have that connection that I usually seek in books. However, the plot and original ideas stood their ground I had a little trouble getting into the idea at first, but before I was halfway through the book, I was hooked. I couldn’t get enough of the rest of the story and spent the rest of my free time reading it. I really enjoyed the language of the book. The way some of the text was worded was really appealing. And, just wow, McCray can really write some plot twists and surprises. I didn’t expect any of the turns she threw in there. I’m so glad there’s going to be another book (and the sneak peak she included at the end really whet my appetite). I can’t wait to read the next.

Original ideas, good writing, and a great plot. What more could you ask from Heartsblood?

Prude Filter: This book contains profanity, violence, and sexual content. I suggest 18 and up.

Source: Book Lovin’ Bitches Ebook Tours
Author’s website: http://carolynmccray.com/
Purchase this book: Smashwords | Amazon

Disclosure of material connection: I am a member of the Book Lovin’ Bitches Ebook Tours, and a copy was provided to me by the author. Although payment may have been received by Book Lovin’ Bitches Ebook Tours, no payment was received by me in exchange for this review, nor was there an obligation to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely mine and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book’s publisher and publicist, or readers of this review. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. It sounds interesting although I'm not sure if I go for the plot driven thing over the character connection thing. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply
  2. OH I just finished reading this I agree I wasn't sure about all the science but it didn't take long to be deeply engrossed in this book , I found out today Deadblood won't be out til next year 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,291 hits
