Where She Went

Where She Went (If I Stay #2)
by Gayle Forman
Release date: April 5, 2011
Publisher: Dutton Books
258 pages. Paperback ARC.
Rating: 5/5

Synopsis
It’s been three years since Adam’s love saved Mia after the accident that annihilated life as she knew it…
…and three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life forever.

Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Juilliard’s rising star and Adam is L.A. tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple together again, for one last night. As they explore the city that has become Mia’s home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future–and each other.

Review
Wow. Just wow. Once again, the story of Adam and Mia has me blown away. I read this in under twenty four hours, and that’s pretty difficult to pull off with my schedule. It was just so good. I had to find out how things would end between them.

This time around, the story is told from Adam’s perspective. This is really nice because we can get into his head. It’s very interesting to see how his brain works. Though he’s pretty angsty at this point, I still got a feel for it. Being in his head also shrouded what Mia was going through in mystery. Adam’s development throughout this book is very clear and so realistic. He’s so messed up and watching him sort things out is quite a ride. I loved how Mia embraced the past so much. She didn’t let every thought of her parents turn into a painful ones. Instead, she kept them very much alive in her heart. It’s such a beautiful attitude.

Though this one didn’t bring me to tears, like the first installment, it was no less of an emotional roller coaster. This time the book is more angry than sad. It’s so easy to feel what Alex is experiencing thanks to some really superb writing. Also, I enjoyed the way the chapters were laid out, alternating between the present and memories. The plot was just perfect. It had the me guessing until the end. I was so satisfied. Everything about this book is just so amazing. No one writes emotion like Forman.

You have to go pick Where She Went up on April 5! I promise it will be worth it.

Prude Filter: This book contains profanity and sexual content. It should be fine for mature teens.

Source: Publisher
Author’s website: http://www.gayleforman.com/
Purchase this book: Book Depository | Amazon
Other books in this series:
If I Stay

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I've been reading reviews for this book through partially-squinted eyes because I'm so afraid of spoilers! Thank you for keeping your review spoiler-free while still making me even MORE excited to read the book! Awesome!Erin @ Quitting My Day Job

    Reply
  2. Originally I didn't want to read reviews about this book as I loved If I Stay and didn't want anything to spoil Where She Went. The reviews just keep popping up though and I am getting more and more excited for April 5!

    Reply
  3. I can't wait to read this. It seems like Stay was forever ago! Great review!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,291 hits
