Insight

Insight
by Jamie Magee
Published 2010 by Smashwords
236 pages. E-book.
Rating: 3/5

Synopsis
Before that fateful summer night, Willow had balanced the insight of emotions, and the vivid images. That night, the figure in her nightmare marked her wrist with a star, giving her father no choice but to tell Willow a family secret that would abruptly change life, as she knew it, forever. Before Willow had time to absorb the shock of her father’s secret, her soul mate that had shared every stunning dream with her, found her, and darkness captured her closest friends. In order to save them, she must weave through broken myths and the undeniable power of the Zodiac. In the end, Willow discovers that at the moment of our birth, we are all given a divine gift.

Review
I originally came upon Jamie Magee’s novel on my first visit to Smashwords. It was free at the time and sounded very interesting. I tried to read it as soon as I downloaded it, but I just had too much going on at the time. When she signed up for the Book Lovin’ Bitches Ebook Tours, I jumped at the chance to finish up the novel I had started.

As far as characters go, Willow and Landen are jsut stellar. Though they’ve been in each other’s dreams for years, they still manage to grow even closer together after they meet. The reader gets to join them on their journey to understanding how poweful their love really is. Their undeniable connection and the strength and power it brings them is reason enough to give this book praise. To add to that, there are some terrific supporting characters. Willow’s grandmother, Rose, was probably my favorite, and her sister Libby was pretty wonderful as well. And though Drake is the antagonist, I appreciated the way he was portrayed, and all the evil that surrounded him.

As much as I hate to say it, there are some things I didn’t like about the book. It’s because of these that I only liked it rather than loved it. First I want to say that I think the entire premise of the story is very interesting and has a lot of potential. The problem with it is that it’s information overload. There is so much to explain. It was a little overwhelming. Honestly, during those parts I had to make myself keep reading so that I could get to the parts that made me want to keep reading, like the last 1/3 of the book. I admit I was confused and had to work some of it out in my head a few times. Still, the whole world is very intriguing and has the potential to become a really epic series. I might have to pick up the next one when it’s released.

All in all, Insight is a pretty good debut, introducing the reader to an original and captivating world.

Prude Filter: There’s nothing to worry about here! This one is completely suitable for teens.

Source: Book Lovin’ Bitches Ebook Tours
Author’s website: http://www.insightjamiemagee.com/
Purchase this book: Smashwords | Amazon Kindle

Disclosure of material connection: I am a member of the Book Lovin’ Bitches Ebook Tours, and a copy was provided to me by the author. Although payment may have been received by Book Lovin’ Bitches Ebook Tours, no payment was received by me in exchange for this review, nor was there an obligation to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely mine and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book’s publisher and publicist, or readers of this review. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. l agree, sometimes it is very confusing! If you manage to get past that, this is a great read. I loved it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,284 hits
