Across the Universe by Beth Revis

Title:Β Across the Universe
Author: Beth Revis
Series: Across the Universe #1
Publisher: Razorbill
Release Date: 1/11/2011
Length: 398 pages
Format: Paperback ARC
Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Sci-fi, Young Adult
Challenges: 2011 Debut Author Challenge
Source: Good Golly Miss Holly ARC Tours
Purchase: Hardcover | Kindle | NOOK | ePub

Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules. Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone–one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship–tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn’t do something soon, her parents will be next. Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed’s hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there’s only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.

Wow! That was my first reaction to this book. I’ve been telling everyone about it. I had a hunch that I would enjoy this book, but I didn’t realize that I would love it this much. I can’t remember loving a book this much. I’m sure it’s happened, but this book made me forget all about it. This a terrific debut.

Both Amy and Elder are the type of characters it’s so easy to root for. They’re incredibly likable, but still have those realistic flaws. Every single character was so well developed and complex. But the book is much more plot driven than character drive. I usually prefer it the other way around, but it worked so well for this one.

I promise you, anything you wouldn’t think to consider about this world aboard a ship, Revis has it covered. It is so obvious that she put so much thought and time into this book. I would read something and think, “wow, I wouldn’t have even considered that.” I suppose that’s why she’s the writer and I’m not. She’s thought of it all. It’s an incredibly fast-paced story. It grabbed me from the very beginning and kept my attention the entire time. This is a seriously amazing book, and I’m so glad it lived up to the hype. I’m really looking forward to more from Beth Revis.

A new favorite!

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. i have heard great things about Across the universe and your review doesn't disappoint! thanks for sharing your thoughts πŸ™‚ i think i'll be adding it to my ever growing TBR pile :)Dianaps. Cuttee blog! I shall follow πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. I bought this book recently and I can't wait to read it! I saw so many positive reviews on YouTube. I'm excited πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Glad to hear this one was good! I think a lot of people shy away from science fiction but hopefully this one will get more readers interested in the genre.

    Reply
  4. even though I've been avoiding this (seems a little too sci-fi) for me…i'm gonig to give it a shot. Great review!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,299 hits
