Shine

Shine
by Lauren Myracle
Release date: May 1, 2011
Publisher: Amulet Books
376 pages. Paperback ARC
Rating: 5/5

Synopsis
When her former best friend, Patrick, is found near death, tied to the pump of the local gas station, sixteen-year-old loner Cat is forced into action. The local sheriff blames out-of-towners, but Cat knows someone in their tightly-knit Southern community is guilty of the crime. And only she has the will–and the fury fueled by a still raw wound–to find him.

Review
I absolutely loved this book. I knew when I first saw it that I had to read it, and I’m so excited I participated in this tour. Though I was truly disgusted by some of the things that happen, I really enjoyed it. These kinds of things happen every day, and it’s important to acknowledge that.

Cat is a troubled and complex character. I instantly loved her voice. She, as a character, really made the book something special. This horrible event helps her step outside of her personal world and look at the damage she’s caused. She’s spent years shutting people out. She comes to realize it’s time to fix things. She finally confronts her past. I was constantly rooting for her, especially when she met Jason. Jason is a minor character in the book, but a major character in her life by the end. I really loved her brother, Christian. He’s the big brother we all wish we had (actually, I have two just like him). The characters are very strong, and all very complex.

I thought the depiction of the South was spot on. A lot of it felt just like my hometown (though I think my hometown is a bit bigger). I can relate to most of it though. I think I’m a lot like Cat when it comes to the bad things that go on in small towns. I don’t see much of it. I try to stay away from things like that, just like Cat. She is dragged into that part of her town as she investigates what happened to Patrick. Myracle does such a great job of capturing the ugly side of the rural South: mainly drugs and poverty. It was relatively fast-paced. I was reading every time I got a chance.

Shine is a beautiful and captivating story about love and friendship overcoming all obstacles to find truth in the rural South.

Prude Filter: This book contains profanity, violence, drug abuse, and sexual abuse. It’s probably best for older teens.

Source: Around the World ARC Tours
Author’s website: http://www.laurenmyracle.com/
Purchase this book: Book Depository | Amazon

Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Apart from the story, I love the cover!

    Reply
  2. Great review! I haven't heard of this one yet!

    Reply
  3. Terrific review, you have me convinced that this if not a book to miss!

    Reply
  4. OOPS – I see now it is an arc…. GAH! I have to wait šŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. This sounds fantastic – going to see if my library has it šŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. I can't wait to read this one! Sounds fantastic. I'm so glad I have a chance to read it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,315 hits
