Sapphique

Sapphique
(Incarceron #2)
by Catherine Fisher
performed by Kim Mai Guest
Published 2010 by Listening Library
11 hours, 57 minutes. Unabridged.
Rating: 3/5

The only on who escaped… and the one who could destroy them all. Incarceron, the living prison, has lost one of its inmates to the outside world: Finn escaped, only to find that Outside is not at all what he expected. Used to the technologically advanced, if violently harsh, conditions of the prison, Finn is now forced to obey the rules of Protocol, which require all people to live without technology. To Finn, Outside is just a prison of another kind, especially when Claudia, the daughter of the prison’s warden, declares Finn the lost heir to the throne. When another claimant emerges, both Finn’s and Claudia’s hang on Finn convincing the Court of something that even he doesn’t fully believe. Meanwhile, Finn’s oathbrother Keiro and his friend Attia are still trapped inside Incarceron. They are searching for a magical glove, which the says Sapphique used to escape. To find it, they must battle the prison itself, because Incarceron wants it too.

First things first: this cover is so awesome. I loved the first cover, but I love this one even more. I really like the stars behind the keyhole. That’s such an important part of Outside for the prisoners, so it’s really cool that it’s included on the cover. I liked this book, but like the first one, it didn’t blow me away.

Jared and Attia are the only two characters I genuinely liked. Everyone else was just a little too selfish for my taste. Finn was annoyingly broody for a good portion of the book. I get that he’s pretty upset that Outside isn’t as perfect as he expected, but I really felt he needed to get over it and do what he had to do. Claudia has always been too haughty for my taste. I suppose she’s less so in this book, but she’s still pretty spoiled. Her relationship with Jared is the only thing that saves her in my eyes. Their love for each other is really special. Keiro is a fun character, but also frustrating. He’s just so arrogant, but I know he’s supposed to be that way. I suppose he’s one of my favorites too, even if he is the most selfish character in the whole book. Now my feelings about the Warden are complicated, just like his character.

The plot is fast-paced enough to keep a reader interested. However, like the first one, it gets a little complicated at times. The prison is something I’ve had a hard time dealing with. It’s a very cool idea, and I’m blown away by the originality of it. It’s a rather confusing one though, and my logical brain has a little trouble with it sometimes. To be honest, I didn’t feel committed to the story until about half way through it. That’s when the plot began to take some very interesting turns, and I was eager to see it through. Still, by the end I wasn’t blown away. These books can be a little heavy in my opinion. They have an ultimate dystopian feel. There’s not much hope there, and that makes them kind of sad. I suppose overall, I was satisfied.

Kim Mai Guest is a European-Vietnamese voice actress. She has had roles in numerous animated shows and video games. She did a terrific job with both Incarceron and Sappique. Her ability to create original & recognizable voices for each character just blows me away. I particularly loved her voice for Ricks. It was perfect.

Sapphique is not quite as gripping as I had hoped, but still worth the read. If for nothing else, than for its rather epic ending.

Source: Books-A-Million
Author’s website: http://www.catherine-fisher.com/
Purchase this book: Book Depository | IndieBound | Audible

Reviews of previous books in this series
Incarceron

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I haven't read this series, but the movie might be made and Taylor Lautner is starring in it so why not? Thanks for the honest review. I love audio books so I might try the series in that:)-Danna

    Reply
  2. You are doing great on your challenge goal! This is the first review of the audio that I've read. Thanks for linking up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,315 hits
