January Wrap-up

In case you missed them… here are the links to my January reviews.

5 Star Reviews
The Secret Garden
Ouran High School Host Club (Volume #13)
Ouran High School Host Club (Volume #14)
The Iron Daughter
Sabriel
The Lover’s Dictionary
The Iron Queen

4 Star Reviews
Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares
Totally Captivated
The Iron King
The Namesake
Ouran High School Host Club (Volume #12)
Jerk, California
Love is the Higher Law
Ouran High School Host Club (Volume #15)
Boy Meets Boy

3 Star Reviews
Ouran High School Host Club (Volume #11)
Awakened
I Am Number Four
Beastly

2 Star Reviews
Phantom Dream (Volume #1)

Total Reviews: 21

Reading Challenge Progress
Debut Author Challenge: 0%
Get Steampunked Challenge: 0%
Off the Shelf Challenge: 0%
E-book Challenge: 10%
Audiobook Challenge: 30%
Whisper Stories in My Ear: 13%
Support Your Local Library: 22%

Best of the Month I’m basing this list off the one I did for my best of 2010. I thought it might help me narrow down my decisions at the end of the year. I’m sure by December it will be difficult for me to remember how I felt about the books I read in January.

The Lover's Dictionary. David LevithanOverall The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan. This book is so amazing and true-to-life. It’s an honest look at love and relationships. It really moved me. It was funny, sweet, and melancholy all at once. I love the format and the content. Definitely the best book I reviewed in Januray.

The Iron Queen (Harlequin Teen)Young-Adult The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa. These books are going to make more appearances on m best of the month list. I loved this one the most and it definitely kicked some ass in the YA department. None of the other YA books were as awesome as this one. I adored this book!

SabrielFantasy/Paranormal Sabriel by Garth Nix. So epic. I really hope I liked the rest of the trilogy even half as much as I liked this book. I was totally blown away by the awesomeness of this book. The whole world is complicated, but really interesting. I loved learning about the bells and how Sabriel travels in and out of death. It’s definitely the best fantasy I’ve read in a while, not just this month.

Ouran High School Host Club, Vol. 15Manga Ouran High School Host Club by Bisco Hatori. I’ve really learned to love this series and all its crazy characters. After my long journey through Fruits Basket, I wasn’t sure if I would find another manga I could get so invested in. Ouran has finally clicked with me, though. I love it! I need more.

The Lover's Dictionary. David Levithan2011 Release The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan. Let me say again that I really love this book. It’s my favorite 2011 release that I read this month. It just happened to be my overall favorite too. Such a good book!

Boy Meets BoyAudiobook Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan. This is perhaps the best audiobook I’ve ever listened to. I really love Full Cast Audio. They always do such a great job. I loved all the music in this one. It really set the mood for the book. If you like audiobooks, you have to pick this one up. It’s great.

Phantom Dream Volume 1Most Disappointing Phantom Dream by Natsuki Takaya. I thought the cover to this was pretty, and when I got home and took a closer look, I got really excited that it was by Natsuki Takaya. I thought since I loved Fruits Basket so much that I might love something else by her. This series is just confusing though. I had a very hard time following this volume and I’m not sure if I want to continue it or not.

The Iron Queen (Harlequin Teen)Best Cover – The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa. I always judge books by their covers, and I can’t get enough of this one. It’s so pretty! I love the brushes, and pink is my favorite color. I wonder what color the next one will be? And will it have Ash on it, instead of Meghan? That’s who it’s supposed to be about anyway. Oh! And while I’m on the subject, I am 100% Team Ash. He’s so awesome.

Series – The Iron Fey Series by Julie Kagawa. Yes, it’s this series again! I love it so much. It gets more exciting with each book. The last one was so epic. I can’t wait for more of it. I’m so mad at myself for waiting so long to give these a chance.

Author – David Levithan is so amazing. I really have to read the rest of his books. I’ve only read a few exclusively by him and two collaborative books. I love his style. He has a real gift for communicating the problems and emotions that everyone deals with in high school. He’s definitely one of the best YA authors out there. I’m eager to read more.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I love David Levithan too and I agree with you – he is definitely one of the best YA authors! I've read Boy Meets Boy too and that's actually what introduced me to this great author and I've been following his works since. I've yet to read The Lover's Dictionary, though. I'm waiting for it to be available in my country!Brush Up On Your Reading

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,315 hits
