Boy Meets Boy

Boy Meets Boy
by David Levithan
performed Nicholas Robideau & a full cast family
Published 2007 by Full Cast Audio
5 hours, 56 minutes. Unabridged.
Rating: 4/5

What if you went to a school where it was actually all right to be who you really are? That’s the enchanting place David Levithan has created in this highly acclaimed first novel. But even if the gay kids and the straight kids all get along just fine, even if it’s all right for the quarterback to be a cross dresser named Infinite Darlene and the cheerleaders to ride Harleys into the pep rally, the road to true love is still a strange and winding path, as Paul discovers when he meets the boy of his dreams. Charming, funny, delightful, and utterly heartwarming, this YA novel speaks with clarity and depth about our need to love and be loved.

This book went beyond my expectations. I was a little unsure about it at first, but as soon as Paul met Noah I became interested. Noah is great: quirky and charming. Paul is one of the most loving characters I’ve ever come across. He tries so hard to make everyone happy, though sometimes it doesn’t work out the way he hopes. The supporting characters are all so well written. I’m always thrilled with Levithan’s ability to portray the confusion and chaos of being a teen. I have no idea what it’s like to be gay in high school, but I like that there’s a good mix of situations: Paul, who’s always known and has a supporting family; Kyle, who’s confused about his sexuality and who he really is; Tony, who just wants to be accepted and loved by his parents. They’re all different, wonderful characters who just need be loved. It’s definitely quirky, but has good depth.

I forgot how much I love Full Cast Audio. It’s so nice to hear everyone’s different voices. I particularly loved Mike Stevens’s (who read as Noah) voice. The coolest part was the music. There was music all through the audiobook. There is a particular scene when Paul and Noah are painting (Noah always paints to music) and it really set the mood of the scene for me. I highly recommend this audio book.

Source: http://downloadable.jclc.org
Author’s website: http://www.davidlevithan.com/
Purchase this book: Full Cast Audio | Book Depository | IndieBound | Audible

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I agree with you about fulll cast audio; I think it is much more engaging.This one sounds like a winner 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,299 hits
