Beastly

Beastly
by Alex Flinn
performed by Chris Patton
Published 2010 by Brilliance Audio
6 hours, 46 minutes. Unabridged.
Rating: 3/5

A beast. Not quite wolf or bear, gorilla or dog but a horrible new creature who walks upright–a creature with fangs and claws and hair springing from every pore. I am a monster. You think I’m talking fairy tales? No way. The place is New York City. The time is now. It’s no deformity, no disease. And I’ll stay this way forever–ruined–unless I can break the spell. Yes, the spell, the one the witch in my English class cast on me. Why did she turn me into a beast who hides by day and prowls by night? I’ll tell you. I’ll tell you how I used to be Kyle Kingsbury, the guy you wisher you were, with money, perfect looks, and the perfect life. And then, I’ll tell you how I became perfectly… beastly.

I don’t really have too much to say about this one. It was cute, and brought back memories of watching Beauty and the Beast as a child. Kyle is pretty broody, but I guess the beast would be. He has plenty to brood about that’s for sure. I liked watching Kyle transform into a decent person. I really liked Lindy. She was so sweet. It was a nice modern take on the story. It’s nothing terribly deep, but there are a lot of cool literary references and it’s a fun read. Chris Patton does a pretty good job narrating. He does pretty good voices.

I have to say that I’m pretty excited about the movie. It obviously doesn’t quite follow the book, but the idea is the same. I think it will be really good. I hope it will be anyway. I’m super excited about Neal Patrick Harris playing Will. He’s absolutely perfect for that part. He’ll be worth it if nothing else is.

Source: Emmet O’Neal Library. Mountain Brook, AL.
Author website: http://www.alexflinn.com/
Purchase this book: Book Depository | IndieBound | Audible

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Hmm, if my library has this I may pick it up once I go back. I agree the movie looks good, I love Neil Patrick Harris!

    Reply
  2. I have heard a lot of about this one. I had a student get it our of scholastic and my student teacher brought it in the other day. I am curious!

    Reply
  3. I'm assuming from the source credit that you checked it out from us, so thanks for the circ stat! Plus, I also listened to that and have to admit that I *really, really* loved it…but I did grow up during that bastion of melodrama, the Linda Hamilton/Ron Perlman tv version of Beauty and the Beast so it is a story for which I harbor a fairly large soft spot. Visit us again soon and stop by to say HI!HolleyEOL Librarian

    Reply
  4. I just finished reading the book. I highly recommend it to everyone. It's a modern, beautiful version of "Beauty and the Beast". I loved it, nothing like the movie that just came out. It's truly my favorite book.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,315 hits
