The Iron Daughter

The Iron Daughter
(Iron Fey #2)
by Julie Kagawa
Published 2010 by Harlequin Teen
289 pages. E-book.
Rating: 5/5

Half summer fairy princess, half human, Meghan has never fit in anywhere. Deserted by the Winter prince she thought loved her, she is prisoner to the Winter faery queen. As war looms between Summer and Winter, Meghan knows that the real danger comes from the Iron Fey–ironbound faeries that only she and her absent prince have seen. But no one believes her. Worse, Meghan’s own fey powers have been cut off. She’s stuck in faery with only her wits for help. Trusting anyone would be foolish. Trusting a seeming traitor could be deadly. But even as she grows a backbone of iron, Meghan can’t help but hear the whispers of longing in her all-too-human heart.

I’ve become increasingly impressed with Kagawa while reading this series. She can really craft a story. I find that sometimes books can get predictable. We’ve seen it all before and so we know what the outcome will be. The idea behind this series is so original that I can’t even guess at what will happen. I just go with it. I’m constantly surprised by where the books take me. I really like that about them.

Great characters! They’re all terrific, even the not-so-good ones are likable in an “I’m the villain” kind of way. I really love Meghan. She’s a very strong lead. Not that she doesn’t have her doubts about her abilities. There are some times when she finds herself in trouble that she needs help to get out of. However, her determination to fight for what she believes in and the people she loves is really something. I’m totally and completely invested in her story. I want to see it all through with her to end. That’s good character writing. The reader should always feel attached to the main character in some way. The other characters are no different. Ash, Puck, Grim, and some new allies are just as well written. They’re all entertaining, and at this point I feel like I really know them and understand their personalities. It’s something that I don’t really think about until I read a book that does it well.

Terrific plot! I was locked in the whole time. I found myself reading it all the time. I loved having it on my Kobo. I would read while drying my hair without having to find something to hold the book open with. (Just so this doesn’t sound too weird, I have super thick, curly hair. It takes a long time for me to get it dry. Also, I’m aware that this an incorrect use of parentheses.) There was a lot of action and new plot twists left and right. That’s one of my favorite things about her writing. She develops a fast-paced plot with a lot of twists and turns, but it isn’t overwhelming. It feels natural.

I really didn’t expect to love this series the way I do. I’ve already started reading my galley of The Iron Queen. Be looking for that. And if you haven’t read this series yet, shame on you! Go pick it up at the book store or library ASAP.

Source: http://downloadable.jclc.org
Author’s website: http://www.juliekagawa.com/
Purchase this book: Book Depository | IndieBound

Reviews of previous books in the series:
The Iron King

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I really enjoyed this one too. I like how Meghan is growing increasingly stronger. I love Ash. Grim is the coolest character. I also really liked Ironhorse. As much as I liked all 3 books, I think this might be my fav.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,315 hits
