Monday Memes

Mailbox Monday is hosted by The Printed Page. This month it’s on tour at Rose City Reader. This is a weekly meme where bloggers post the books they’ve gotten in the past week.

For Review
Crash into MeAcross the UniverseThe Japanese Mind: Understanding Contemporary Japanese CultureI Am Number Four (Lorien Legacies)
Crash Into Me by Albert Borris
Across the Universe by Beth Revis
The Japanese Mind: Understanding Contemporary Japanese Culture by Roger J. Davies & Osamu Ikeno
I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore

I feel I need to explain the book on Japanese culture. I’ve been writing a lot lately. What I’m writing right now is set mainly in Japan, a place I’ve never been and don’t know much about. I’m trying to get myself a little more acquainted with the culture so that my story is convincing. Lord knows how long it will take me to finish, if I ever do. I’m devoted for the time being, so that’s good.

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Book Journey. For this meme bloggers post what they finished last week, what they’re currently reading, and what they plan to start this week.

Finished last week
Jerk, CaliforniaOuran High School Host Club, Vol. 13Ouran High School Host Club, Vol. 14Scott Pilgrim, Vol. 1: Scott Pilgrim's Precious Little LifeSabrielThe Iron Daughter (Harlequin Teen)Phantom Dream Volume 1
Jerk, California by Jonathan Friesen (read review here)
Ouran High School Host Club (Volume #13) by Bisco Hatori (read review here)
Ouran High School Host Club (Volume #14) by Bisco Hatori (read review here)
Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life (Scott Pilgrim #1) by Bryan Lee O’Malley (review coming later)
Sabriel (Abhorsen #1) by Garth Nix (review coming soon)
The Iron Daughter (Iron Fey #2) by Julie Kagawa (review coming soon)
Phantom Dream (Volume #1) by Natsuki Takaya (review coming soon)

Currently reading
I Am Number Four (Lorien Legacies)The Iron Queen (Harlequin Teen)Love Is the Higher Law
I Am Number Four (Lorien Legacies #1) by Pittacus Lore
The Iron Queen (Iron Fey #3) by Julie Kagawa
Love is the Higher Law by David Levithan

To begin this week
Delirium (Delirium - Trilogy)Beastly Movie Tie-in EditionOuran High School Host Club, Vol. 15Scott Pilgrim, Vol. 2: Scott Pilgrim Versus The World (v. 2)
Delirium by Lauren Oliver
Beastly by Alex Finn
Ouran High School Host Club (Volume #15) by Bisco Hatori
Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World (Scott Pilgrim #2) by Bryan Lee O’Malley

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. I'm not familiar with these books, but I hope you enjoy them!

    Reply
  2. I saw I Am Four at the bookstore this weekend; thought my daughter might like it. She loved Mockingjay, is it kind of the same thing?

    Reply
  3. The man who wrote "I Am Number Four" grew up in a town about 10 minutes from where I live, and I've had the opportunity to meet him, so I really look forward to reading this book. Hope you enjoy it!

    Reply
  4. Intriguing titles! I Am Number Four sounds fascinating.Here's my Monday:(click on my name)

    Reply
  5. I love Beastly and am using it in my classroom along with Flin's other retelling A Kiss in Time. I have also very much wanted to read Love is the Higher Law. Have a great week!

    Reply
  6. I haven't read any of these books just yet and I really need to read Beastly and I am number four before the movie comes out. Enjoy! Heres what I'm reading

    Reply
  7. A great group of books! I really need to try the Iron series…. I am getting so far behind – is there three or four books out now?

    Reply
  8. I listened to Sabriel on audio on my way to and from work last year. It's read by Tim Curry which is kind of a trip, I really liked it though.

    Reply
  9. Great list of books — I'm thinking of trying the Iron Fey series.

    Reply
  10. That Japan book looks very interesting. Enjoy all your books!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,291 hits
