Blog Hop & Follow Friday

Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Crazy-for-Books and is an awesome way for book bloggers to interact and find each other. Such a wonderful idea! There’s a new questions every week that all the participating blogs have to answer. This week’s question is “Why do you read the genre that you do? What draws you to it?”

Answer: Well, I’m drawn to different genres for different reasons. I tend to read a whole lot of YA books because I’m a young adult. Though I not a teenager anymore, I can relate more to a teen than I can to a middle-aged person. I enjoy fantasy books because sometimes it’s refreshing to escape to a world that is full of the impossible and in no way resembles the one I live in every day. I enjoy manga because I like the art and I think it’s precious. I like some historical fiction and classics from the Victorian period because I love to read about society in that time. I just find it fascinating. I love that something as simple as hand holding can be so improper and intimate.

Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee. This is another meme that helps book bloggers connect. This week’s featured blog is The More You Read, The More You Will Know.

“What makes up your non-human family?”

Answer: Our cat Reese. She’s really pretty. She’s also really spoiled. She always has a bowl full of dry food, but she eats wet food every morning and she gets impatient if her breakfast is late. She loves to sit at the table in the sun room and look out the window. She also loves to sharpen her claws on absolutely everything she can. She spends her evenings curled on my mother’s bed. The only decent picture I have is from when she was a kitten, but she still looks like this… just older.

PS – I’m going to be in Atlanta visiting my boyfriend for his birthday so I’m not going to announce the giveaway winner until Sunday afternoon. That means you still have some time to enter. I’ll give it until 12:00 PM (Central) Sunday. That also means I’m not going to be posting any reviews until Sunday. See you then!

Happy Friday!

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. New follower stopping by! :)"I love that something as simple as hand holding can be so improper and intimate."I don't read as much historical fiction as I would like to, but that type of situation came up in Cassandra Clare's "Clockwork Angel" and I.loved.it. Definitely a motivation to look into more in the historical fiction genre. ;)Your cast is so gorgeous! I love her coloring!Stephanie @ Poetry to Prose

    Reply
  2. Just found you through the Blog Hop! I just became a school librarian and YA is my favorite genre to read as well. In particular, I love finding great YA historical fiction for teachers to use in their classrooms!Happy weekend 🙂

    Reply
  3. New Follower here! Your blog layout is cute. Happy Follow Friday.http://heatheraine.blogspot.com

    Reply
  4. Good response! I agree that the standards of propriety make reading books in the Victorian/Regency era a great escape from the modern world. Love it.

    Reply
  5. I think I'm in love with young adult!! Hihi..Coming for the blog hop. Follow you. My answers are HERE

    Reply
  6. Book becomes our escape from reality regardless the genre. 🙂 You can read my answer at Clandestine Sanctuary. Have a great weekend!

    Reply
  7. Here I am hopping on by…I went all over the map with this question on my blog. I read and enjoy almost every genre of fiction out there. There’s no way I could just pick one.So I talked about all of them. Even romance fiction (sort of)! I invite you to hop over to my blog at http://www.howardsherman.net and see for yourself.Howard A. Shermanhttp://www.howardsherman.net

    Reply
  8. Happy Follow Friday! I am a follower!Sincerely,Emma MichaelsThe Thirteenth Chimehttp://EmmaMichaels.Blogspot.com

    Reply
  9. Hello,Happy Friday I'm just stopping by for Follow Friday and the hop. I can't believe its Friday already but I hope you have a fabulous weekend and get lots of reading done. DanielleRomance Book Junkies

    Reply
  10. Your reasons are part of mine as to why I love historical fiction. Many things that were so improper then are more than mainstream now. Sometimes when reading a HF book, I have to remind myself of that! Enjoy your weekend and Happy Birthday to your boyfriend!Kat @ A Journey in Reading

    Reply
  11. My kids want a cat so bad, but the husband doesn't. boo!Jen

    Reply
  12. I read more than one genre. But there are a few genres I don't read. Come see what I do and don't read.

    Reply
  13. Old follower, wanted to say hi! Drop by if you get a chance and check out my giveaway!KristinMyBookishWays

    Reply
  14. Just here from FF! Love your kitty photo!

    Reply
  15. I'm a new follower! I love your layout (owls are super cool!!!) and your blog looks really fun. :)I read a lot of YA and Historical fiction. For historical fiction, I mainly stick to the Tudor era. I really like Steampunk too.This is my first Hop!AmberThe Musings of ALMYBNENR

    Reply
  16. Hopping through. Your kitten is adorable! Have fun in Atlanta.My Hop

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,285 hits
