Honey Hunt, Volume 6

Honey Hunt (Volume #6)
by Miki Aihara
Published 2010 by VIZ Media
192 pages. Paperback.
Rating: 4/5

With Yura and Q-ta’s relationship now revealed to the public, Mizorogi will need to decide whether or not to interfere. What will Haruka do when he has the chance to tell Yura his true feelings? And when Q-ta visits Yura at her house, the two of them end up in the bedroom all alone…

Just to give a few reminders: Yura is starting her acting career in hopes of showing her parents that she doesn’t need them to be special. She’s hoping to become a better actress than her mother. She’s dating Q-ta, a musician who’s a huge fan of her father’s music. Haruka, Q-ta’s brother, is acting alongside Yura in a television show and he’s developed a thing for Yura. Mizorogi, her manager, wants her to focus on her career and not the two boys vying for her attention, though there seems to be a little more behind his actions. This cover shows Yura and Haruka.

I’m still don’t quite understand why Aihara writes her female characters the way she does. Yura just seems a little weak. I mean, she redeems herself sometimes. I was proud of her a few times in this volume because she didn’t let people get in her way. Still, she cries a lot. She also lets Q-ta dictate her life and that’s never healthy. I guess I should remind myself that I was a teenager once and I probably wasn’t much different.

Haruka has such a hard time talking about his feelings. I’m unsure whether that’s part of his personality or whether he just wants to protect some image he has going for himself. The second seems a little shallow for Haruka. Q-ta on the other hand can be a selfish prick and I wish Yura would open her eyes and see that. Instead she acts like an idiot. He says he would rather her not act if it keeps her from seeing him and I have no doubt she would stop for him… and that’s just stupid. Mizorogi is difficult to figure out. He has a thing for her, that’s for sure. He doesn’t pursue it, probably because he’s her boss and he’s nearly twice her age. Still, he sabotages her meetings with Q-ta and seems really hurt when he catches them alone together.

The plot is keeping me locked into the series. I wasn’t expecting Yura and Q-ta to get so serious so fast. I’m worried about Yura. I think they’re moving too fast. Plus, Haruka seems to genuinely care about her and I kind of like him. I’m also hoping for a fire to get ignited between Yura and her mother. Her mother seemed pretty hurt by some of the things Yura said to her and I’m really hoping Aihara explores that further in the next volume. I imagine Mizorogi’s feelings will be exposed at some point, though I’m not expecting it anytime soon. But who knows? Aihara’s surprised me with the plot so far. I really enjoyed this volume and I’m ready for the next one.

Source: Books-A-Million
Purchase this book: Book Depository | IndieBound

Reviews of previous books in this series:
Volume 5

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Not my favourite genre at all but I wanted to wish you happy reading and a very happy Christmas.

    Reply
  2. The story is moving along rather quickly for shojo manga. I'm glad you are enjoying it. I wondered about the manager…Merry Christmas! (^.^)

    Reply
  3. Yeah I got this the other day and the ending to this volume ticked me off. She dropped everything she had…just to go with him. Not to mention how quickly their "relationship" progressed the other night. I hated QTA from the beginning. I like Haruka, but since they are brothers, there are bound to be more shenanigans or Haruka just likes something Q TA likes also.Her safest route would be her boss since he could teach her discipline all the while coddle her since she's such a cry baby.I'm pretty sure I've made some rash decisions when I was a teen, but she's just so…reckless.

    Reply
  4. Yeah, I used to think Yura was weak. But, put yourself in her shoes — when you're little, your parents are basically your entire world. You don't learn to hate them until your older, and event then, you still want their respect and recognition. Doing what Yura did takes guts. And teenage girls are generally weepy. (Being one myself) When they fall for guys, everything their guy does seems wonderful and everytime their guy gets mad, it seems like its your fault. So, I identify well with Yura. She is moving a little too fast, but what young girl ISN'T stupid like that? She just wants to be loved, really, and that's understandable.I LOVE HER BOSS, BY THE WAY! He's the best one. 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,291 hits
