Let It Snow

Let It Snow: Three Holiday Romances
by John Green, Maureen Johnson, & Lauren Myracle
Published 2008 by Puffin
352 pages. Paperback.
Rating: 4/5

Sparkling white snowdrifts, beautiful presents wrapped in ribbons, and multicolored lights glittering in the night through the falling snow. A Christmas Eve snowstorm transforms one small town into a romantic haven, the kind you only see in movies. Well, kinda. After all, a cold and wet hike from a stranded train through the middle of nowhere would not normally end with a delicious kiss with a charming stranger. And no one would think that a trip to the Waffle House through four feet of snow would lead to love with an old friend. Or that the way back to true love begins wit ha painfully early morning shift at Starbucks.

Ok, this book is precious. I don’t think I’ve ever read a Christmas book before. I know I’ve read books that I associate with winter, but never one that really focused on Christmas. I picked this one up because I love John Green. I’m so glad because it was the perfect little book to get me in the Christmas spirit.

I was impressed by Maureen Johnson’s story. It was probably my favorite of the three. I thought she had a great sense of humor and I liked her characters. Jubilee was just awesome. I may have to check out some of her books now. John Green didn’t disappoint. His characters were hilarious, of course. I love the way he deals with romance. It’s so much more realistic than many authors. He just knows what he’s doing when it comes to writing teen characters. His story was definitely the funniest of the three. Lauren Myracle wrote a cute story, but I didn’t get into it the way I did the other two. I thought she had a good message, but it was a tad too cheesy for me at the end. I also just couldn’t get into Addie. I don’t really feel compelled to read anything else by Myracle.

If you want some cute and funny stories to get you into the Christmas spirit, you should pick this book up. It’s a fun read.

Source: Homewood Public Library. Homewood, AL.
Authors’ websites:
http://johngreenbooks.com/
http://www.maureenjohnsonbooks.com/
http://www.laurenmyracle.com/
Purchase this book: Book Depository | IndieBound

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,316 hits
