Fruits Basket, Volumes 13-14

Fruits Basket (Volume #13)
by Natsuki Takaya
Published 2006 by Tokyopop
190 pages. Paperback.
Rating: 4/5

The time for Yuki’s parent-teacher conference has finally arrived, and Yuki must learn how to make his own decisions if he wantes to have a say about his future, later. Tohru sets off on a quest to find out if Kureno Sohma is the same person Arisa has been in love with all this time. But along the way she will discover a tragic secret about Momiji’s sister Momo…

We get to meet Yuki’s ice-queen of a mother. She’s ready to tell Yuki exactly what kind of life he will have without consulting him about his feelings. Ayame shows up and saves the day. It’s nice to see him come through for Yuki, and I think Yuki really does appreciate it. There’s more student council crap that I don’t really care about. Okay, so maybe I’m slightly curious about Kuragi because she’s so quiet. But that’s the only interest I have in any of them. I have to say, though, Yuki is right. The Manabe really is just like Ayame.

Tohru goes in search of Kureno after she finds out that’s who Uo is in love with. In her search she comes across Momiji’s little sister spying on him. She sneaks over to his room to listen to him play the violin and she wants him to be her brother. She’s guessed that he’s probably her brother since he looks so much like their mother. It’s precious, and kind of sad. Kureno is most definitely interesting. I’m ready to learn more about him. He’s quiet, which makes it hard to find out if he’s good or bad. I’m leaning toward good. We’ll have to wait and see.

The class goes on a trip. Not much really goes on there. There’s a couple of nice moments with Tohru and Kyo. Yuki does more thinking about his life and tries to stay strong. He really is a fragile guy. It makes me kind of sad to see the pain he suffers on the inside sometimes.

Source: Emmet O’Neal Library. Mountain Brook, AL.
Purchase this book: Book Depository | IndieBound


Fruits Basket (Volume #14)
by Natsuki Takaya
Published 2006 by Tokyopop
192 pages. Paperback.
Rating: 4/5

Isuzu loves snooping through Shigure’s life, especially when she’s totally convinced that he is hiding something. But when Tohru finds a passed out Isuzu in the house, she tries to drag Isuzu to the hospital. Meanwhile, Yuki goes to the ASB student council room only to find it trashed again! But as the secrets of who vandalized the room come out of the closet, Yuki accidently gets locked in one. Who will be the one to help him get out?

I’m so glad I finally got a glimpse into Rin’s life. I’m so glad there’s a reason for the way she acts. She’s just as fragile as Yuki. Well, I guess she’s more fragile. While Yuki keeps all his pain inside, Rin takes it out on everyone. She’s got a big heart though. She wants to help Haru, to set him free. It looks like she and Tohru are both looking for a way to break the curse. I like this. There might be more of a chance with both of them trying to figure it out. I’ve always had a feeling Tohru is the key to breaking the curse. I’ll guess we’ll see if I’m right.

More student council stuff. At least, I found out a little more about Kuragi. The class is also going to put on a play. I think’s it’s hilarious that Kyo was chosen to be Prince Charming. I imagine this will show up in one of the following volumes. I can’t wait to watch Kyo try to be charming.

Source: Emmet O’Neal Library. Mountain Brook, AL.
Purchase this book: Book Depository | IndieBound

Reviews of previous books in this series:
Volume 5 | Volume 6 | Volumes 7-8 | Volume 9 | Volume 10 | Volumee 11 | Volume 12


Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I love this series, but have only read up to 13, and can't wait to read 14! They're so good, and the drawings are awesome!You have an award waiting for you here! =] http://cheezyfeetbooks.blogspot.com/2010/11/my-first-award.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,285 hits
