Twilight: The Graphic Novel, Volume 1

Twilight: The Graphic Novel (Volume #1)
by Stephenie Meyer
art by Young Kim
Published 2010 by Yen Press
224 pages. Hardcover.
Rating: 5/5

When Isabella Swan moves to the gloomy town of Forks and meets the mysterious, alluring Edward Cullen, her life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn. With his porcelain skin, golden eyes, mesmerizing voice, and supernatural gifts, Edward is both irresistible and impenetrable. Up until now, he has managed to keep his true identity hidden, but Bella is determined to uncover his dark secret. Beautifully rendered, this first installment of Twilight: The Graphic Novel is a must-have for any collector’s library.

This was everything I hoped it would be. When I first read Twilight, I really enjoyed it. As much as I hate to admit it, that book got me back into reading. I read Jane Austen because I noticed Bella read her (I tend to steal reading ideas from other books). I picked up Wuthering Heights (my all-time favorite book) because they talked about it Eclipse and I wanted to know what they were talking about. The movies and the hype from them has really ruined the series for me a little bit. At first, I was with everyone, but I’m just sick of it now. I’ll go see the next two movies but, I’m not excited about them. It will be a while before I can read these books again too.

I said all of that to say that this graphic novel wiped all of that out of my brain. It was beautiful and perfect and everything I really wanted from the movies. It’s such a great interpretation. The art is absolutely beautiful. I can’t wait for the next volume. I know that Stephenie Meyer is cashing in like crazy on crap like this, but I can’t help myself. I loved this and I want the next one. It made the story so fresh for me. It didn’t feel tainted by all the hype. I fell in love with the story all over again. I didn’t think I would be able to do that. I think I might love the graphic novel more than the regular novel. There are no unnecessary details to skim through. Isn’t the art beautiful?

Source: Books-a-Million
Author’s website: http://www.stepheniemeyer.com/
Purchase this book: Book Depository | IndieBound

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,315 hits
