Fruits Basket, Volumes 7-8

Fruits Basket (Volume #7)
by Natsuki Takaya
Published 2005 by Tokyopop
192 pages. Paperback.
Rating: 3/5

Tohru and company have been having a lot more fun ever since Kisa came to visit. Now it’s time for Tohru to met another member of the Zodiac–the skillfully sarcastic grade-school student, Hiro! One way or another, this tyke will have to deal with his resentment of Tohru and his affection for Kisa. Where will he find the anwers?

I remember the episode of the anime that we met Hiro. I couldn’t stand this kid. I don’t care what he’s going through. He’s a little jerk. He needs to learn some manners.

I like the chapters that go into Uo’s relationship with Kyoko. It’s pretty cool to see Uo’s background. It also gave a little more insight into Tohru’s relationship with her mother. Kyoko sounds like she was really awesome. It’s sad that she died.

The last chapter I remember from the anime too. Again, it’s pretty cool to see into another person’s life besides Tohru’s. Yuki is so sweet and oblivious to the girls in his fan club. They’re truly creepy about the way they spy on him, and he seems to know nothing about it. I think that’s kind of unusual considering Yuki is usually more perceptive than that.

Though this was a pretty good volume with some cute chapters, I miss Kyo and Tohru. I wanted a little more of them in the story. Hopefully, the next will have more.

Purchase this book: Book Depository | IndieBound


Fruits Basket (Volume #8)
by Natsuki Takaya
Published 2005 by Tokyopop
192 pages. Paperback.
Rating: 5/5

Summer is on its way, so of course Tohru and friends are excited about the upcoming vacation and field trip. But what’s that sound? It’s Hatsuharu going berserk in the classroom… again! Black Haru is full of more rage than usual, so what will happen when Yuki intervenes? And then there’s Ritsu Sohma, whose mom Tohru met at the hot spring… but what’s wrong with this kimono-wearing beauty?!

Now we’re talking! I prefer the volumes that focus on the main plot of this series, the Sohma family and all their secrets. I cannot wait to find out more about what’s troubling Hatsuharu. I’ve loved Haru since he first showed up in this manga. He’s such a little badass. He’s so angsty I feel like I need to give him a hug and tell him everything will be fine. But that would create all kinds of problems, like him transforming into his Chinese zodiac form… and being super mad at me. I love the conversation he has with Yuki. I’ve always had a little trouble understanding Yuki. After the talk the two of them have in this one, it finally occurred to me that Yuki is scared of his feelings for Tohru. I just thought he hadn’t fully realized he had them yet. It’s going to be ugly when things come down to choosing between him and Kyo. I love them both, but I’ve already made up my mind about who Tohru should be with and I have good reason for my decision.

Ritsu was just ridiculous. I thought the same about her mother when she appeared in the series previously. I never found her particularly funny and I don’t find Ritsu funny either. Mostly, they just interrupt a perfectly good volume full of interesting little conversations and happenings. Ayame, however, has really grown on me. I used to hate volumes with him in them because he’s so silly. I liked his chapter in this one. He actually did some good! I wasn’t sure he was capable of such a thing. If I can jump back over to Ritsu’s chapter, there was a great conversation between Ritsu and Tohru. Tohru said she hoped when she found her reason for living, it would be in another person. It was getting a little heavy into existential talk there for a few minutes, but I thought her solution to the question of “why are we here?” was wonderful. I can’t wait for her to realize her reason for living is right in front of her. It will be such a sweet moment!

Source: Emmet O’Neal Library. Mountain Brook, AL.
Purchase this book: Book Depository | IndieBound

Reviews of previous books in this series:
Volume 5 | Volume 6

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Great reviews! It's nice to see someone else reviewing manga. I've never watched anime. Does it follow Fruits Basket manga pretty closely?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,284 hits
