Tales of Terror from the Black Ship

Tales of Terror from the Black Ship
by Chris Priestley, illustrated by David Roberts
Published 2008 by Bloomsbury Children’s Books
243 pages. Hardcover.
Rating: 4/5

Atop a windy cliff, dangling over a stormy sea, lies the Old Inn. There, young Ethan and Cathy have fallen ill and sit waiting for their father to fetch a doctor. But they are not alone for long. An unusual visitor, a sailor, comes knocking. He has pirate and ghost stories aplenty–tales that satisfy Ethan’s and Cathy’s hunger for the grim and grisly. But as the storm wages on, the children realize that something about the sailor is not right. A long night, and perhaps an even more frightening morning, lie ahead…

I saw this book on someone’s blog at the beginning of the month. I don’t think they were reviewing it, just listing good Halloween books. I decided to find some of them and read them for Halloween. I found this one in the library catalog and checked it out.

Though this is considered a children’s book, I wouldn’t read it to a child any younger than 8-years-old. Even then, I would edit some of the language. Aside from the occasional bad language, I thought it was great. It was exactly what I was hoping for: a book of scary/creepy stories. There were a few that were a little boring to me, but most of them were great. I loved that they usually had a twist at the end, even the story of Ethan and Cathy.

I guessed what was going on pretty early, though I wasn’t sure of the details. It took Ethan and Cathy until the end to figure it out. It was a conflicting ending, both sad and good. I’m eager to read Uncle Montague’s Tales of Terror. I might have to purchase a copy of this book too. It would be something nice to share with my own children one day.

Source: Five Points West Branch Library. Birmingham, AL.
Author’s website: http://chrispriestley.blogspot.com/
Purchase this book: Book Depository | IndieBound

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,285 hits
