Ouran High School Host Club, Volume 9 by Bisco Hatori

Title: Ouran High School Host Club, Volume 9
Author: Bisco Hatori
Series: Ouran High School Host Club
Publisher: VIZ Media
Release Date: 7/3/2007
Length: 183 pages
Format: Paperback
Genres: Manga, Shojo
Challenges: N/A
Source: Library
Purchase: Paperback
Rating: ★★★★☆

In middle school, Tamaki Suoh must entice the coldhearted twins, Hikaru and Kaoru Hitachiin, to join his newly created Host Club. But in order to get them to accept his proposal, he must first test them at their own game.

I was glad for this volume, because the last two volumes were totally lost on me. It took me far too long to get through them. This one I actually enjoyed. I feel like the story is starting to get a little more serious and interesting.

I like seeing the beginning of the Host Club. It was nice to see how it all began. Of course, that chapter was hilarious. I really enjoyed the next two though. Haruhi is so perceptive. She understands exactly why Tamaki treats the young princess the way he does. They’ve both lost their mothers in different ways and it’s really great to see them bond over it. And good lord it’s about time Tamaki actually came to terms with his feelings for Haruhi. I wish the plot between the two of them would move a little faster. He certainly has feelings for her, but Haruhi isn’t there yet and I’m ready for the sparks to start.

This is actually something that’s a huge change from manga to anime. In the manga Tamaki’s feelings are there, but he doesn’t mention it to Haruhi. In the anime, he’s very outward about making her fall in love with him. I think Haruhi views it as a bit of a joke, but they talk about it out loud, to each other. I just wonder how things will develop differently in both the manga and the anime because I have yet to finish both. Speaking of the anime I really like it. It’s helped me most to appreciate Renge’s character. I didn’t really get her in the manga, but I think she’s hilarious in the anime. I found her funny this time as I was reading.

I think it’s really taken these 9 volumes to get me invested in the Host Club, but I finally am. There’s finally a balance between the hilarious and the serious. I hope it stays that way in the next five volumes.

Previous volumes in this series:
Volume 1
Volume 2
Volume 3
Volume 4
Volume 5
Volume 6
Volume 7
Volume 8

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Stick with it! This is when the series finally starts to get good, imo. I've read through vol. 14 and a little bit online, and I can't wait to read the rest. The ending of the anime is nothing like the story in the book.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,315 hits
