Honey Hunt, Volume 5

Honey Hunt (Volume #5)
by Miki Aihara
Published 2010 by VIZ Media
192 pages. Paperback.
Rating: 4/5

As Yura’s friends gather to celebrate the premiere of the first episode of her new TV show, she’s nowhere to be seen. Having taken up Q-ta’s offer of a hot springs vacation, Yura finds herself alone with him in a luxurious hotel room. Is she prepared to go all the way with Q-ta, or will her manager Mizorogi spoil the fun once again?

I feel horrible that it’s taken me this long to read this. I was so excited when it came out that I rushed right out and bought it. Then, I didn’t touch it for months. What kind of fan does that make me?

I love these romantic comedies. I think they’re so cute and funny. I usually find my loyalty with one guy pretty quickly, but I’m having a hard time with this one. I like Haruha and Q-ta. I haven’t quite figured them out yet. I’m looking forward to the rest of the series. Surely, something ridiculous will happen that will sway me to one or the other. I’m not terribly crazy about Yura. Based on this series and Hot Gimmick, Aihara doesn’t write very strong females. They always seem sheltered and kind of stupid. Yura is definitely too shy for her own good. I appreciate her determination to become famous without the help of her mother or father though. She’s an improvement from Hatsumi, so that’s good.

I’d like to understand Haruha a little more. He obviously has a thing for Yura. I don’t understand why he won’t just tell her. Of course, that might not be an issue in the next volume. It sounded like that was exactly what he was doing at the end of this one. And what is going on with Keiichi? He’s got to be about twice Yura’s age and I’m thinking his thoughts are not-so-innocent. He’s definitely trying to keep her all to himself. I can’t wait to figure out what that’s all about. Aihara must really like forbidden relationships because this feels a lot like the Shinogu/Hatsumi relationship in Hot Gimmick. It’s kind of a weird position to be in. My favorite part was learning more about why Yura’s mother is such an awful person. It was very interesting to see her past and figure out why she hates her daughter so much. I have to say, it didn’t make me feel sorry for her or anything. She’s just superficial and evil as far as I’m concerned.

This was a great volume. I’m ready for the next one!

Source: Books-A-Million
Purchase this book: Book Depository | IndieBound

 
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I love this series too… and I LOVE Miki Aihara's style.Did you read Hot Gimmick?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,299 hits
