Fourth Comings

Fourth Comings
(Jessica Darling #4)
by Megan McCafferty
Published 2007 by Random House
310 pages. Hardcover.
Rating: 3/5

Fourth Comings occurs within one week of Jessica’s life. Marcus has decided to attend Princeton at the age of 23. When Jessica has finally made the decision to break things off with Marcus, he proposes to her. Jessica has a week to make her decision while Marcus is gone on a trip with his college class. It’s a week of big decisions and shocking discoveries.

It took me far too long to read this book. A whole month! The only reason I finally finished it is because it was due at the library. Don’t get me wrong. I didn’t hate this book or anything. It just didn’t interest me the way I wanted. It’s gone down hill since the high this series was on with the second book. I’ll read the fifth one just so I can finish the story. I’m still hoping the series will redeem itself.

The first problem with this book is based on a bias, but whatever. There was not enough Marcus. There was basically no Marcus, since he was on a trip. You might say, “but Laura, these books are about Jessica, not Marcus.” Yes. They are, and Jessica is funny and all, but this series just isn’t as good without Marcus’s complimentary wit. Because of his absence I found myself pretty bored.

The plot is interesting, but extremely slow. I blame this on the fact that it only covers a week of her life. I can’t imagine filling up 300 pages with a week in my life. It sounds horribly boring… and it is.

There’s one thing Jessica talks about that I just have to refute. She comes to the conclusion that Marcus is constantly changing and because of that she can’t have him in her life. What I don’t understand about this is that everyone changes. It’s just the way human begins are, especially at young ages. College is the time for change, but that doesn’t mean people can’t stay together. In fact, I think any two people in a mature relationship should be able to change and grow together. Maybe that’s just me.

Source: Avondale Regional Branch Library. Birmingham, AL

Author’s website: http://www.meganmccafferty.com/
Purchase this book: Random House | Book Depository | IndieBound
Reviews of previous books in this series:
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,285 hits
