Interview with Lisa of Lit and Life

I was paired with Lisa of Lit and Life for the BBAW interview swap. I was a little nervous because I’ve never interviewed anyone before. I hope my questions were okay. Here’s the interview:


Ramblings of a (Future) Librarian: I saw that your favorite book is Pride & Prejudice. I’m a big Austen fan and I was wondering if you have other favorites by her.


Lit and Life: My second favorite book by Austen is Sense and Sensibility, although I often feel so predictable saying P&P and then S&S as they are so many people’s top two.  
RFL: Sticking to Austen for just a bit. Have you watched many of the movie adaptations of her novels? Of the ones you’ve seen, which do you think is translated best? 

L&L: I’m quite fond of the Kate Beckinsale version of “Emma” and the 1995 version of “Persuasion.”   
RFL: Most readers have “that book” that gets them into reading. What book did that for you and when did it happen?

L&L: I’ve liked to read for as long as I can remember–I was raised to be a reader.  Two of my favorites from childhood that have remained treasured memories are “Little Women” and “A Little Princess.”   

RFL: I see that you participate in a lot of reading challenges and I’m sure that adds many books o your TBR pile. Does that ever overwhelm you?


L&L: This year I really tried to use as many crossover books as possible when I signed up for challenges.  Sadly, I’ve taken on too many review books and haven’t made nearly the dent into the challenges as I had hoped.  So, yes, it has been overwhelming!  I’m hoping to make good use of the rest of the year. 

RFL: I think it’s great when kids get interested in reading at a young age. Are your children interested in reading as well?


L&L: My kids have been raised to be readers; I’ve been reading to them since they were babies.  But I have learned that you can’t make a child love to read by reading to them, buying them books or showing them a love of reading.  My boys both love to read, my younger son in particular.  But my daughter has no interest in it whatsoever.  I’m still working on her, though! 

RFL: It looks to me like you lean more toward literary fiction in your blog reviews. Do you ever read the latest YA craze that so many bloggers get caught up in?


L&L: I used to read a wider variety of books–thrillers, classics, bestsellers, literary fiction.  But I do find myself pretty much attached to literary fiction of late.  I did read a YA book recently and was disappointed by it but I’m not writing that genre off because of that.  I just went to a lit fest that focused on fairy tales and I’m really fired up to jump into those soon.  More on that soon!

RFL: What is the worst book you’ve read and why? 


L&L: I get a lot of books from my mom.  Once she gave me a Belva Plain book and I was horrified by the writing and couldn’t understand the attraction.  I read a book last year that had so many errors in the first 20 pages that I would have been done by then if I hadn’t felt like I needed to finish it for my review.  I can’t even remember the name now! 


RFL: I see that you write for omaha.net. How did that come about?

L&L: I have a friend who also has a book blog and the creators of omaha.net found her.  She told them about me but since she was already doing a bookish column for them, I was hesitant to jump on board.  But when she moved early this summer,  I was glad to jump on board.  Then I realized how hard it is to come up with ideas for columns–I can’t imagine having to write a column once a week.  I have a new-found appreciation for newspaper and magazine columnists!

RFL: I’m a musician so I always like to ask this question: What kind of music have you been listening to this month?


L&L: I’m much more eclectic about my music than I am about my reading but my two favorite radio stations are the classical music station and the alt-rock station, although I will always love the rock music I grew up on and I adore the music of musicals.  Right now I’m most often found listening to Sick Puppies, Chevel, Muse, Foo Fighters, Stone Temple Pilots, Cage The Elephant, Framing Hanley, Breaking Benjamin.  You get the picture.  But then I do love me some Cole Porter or J.S. Bach! 

RFL: We both like to cook (though I don’t have much time for it)! What is your favorite dessert to cook? Did you get it from a cookbook?


L&L: Oh, that’s a tough one!  Desserts are my favorite food group!  One of my favorite desserts is Pavlova, a recipe I got from friends from Australia.  I love to play around with desserts–I’ll try a recipe and once I’ve got it down, then I start adding and subtracting.  But my family can always be made happiest with my homemade chocolate syrup over homemade ice cream.  The chocolate sauce recipe I got from my grandma and my ice cream recipe I got from a Muppets recipe booklet I got 30 years ago. 
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Great interview!

    Reply
  2. I have fond memories of Little Women too. Great interview!

    Reply
  3. You're questions were great! I'm running behind on everything this week but I'll have your interview up tomorrow!

    Reply
  4. Great interview! Some of our best and favorite recipes do come from unusual sources!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Currently Reading

  • Labels

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • FTC Disclosure

    Some of the books reviewed on this blog were sent to me by the author or publisher for review. I did not receive any payment in exchange for the review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of these reviews. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  • Grab a button!

  • Blog Stats

    • 3,315 hits
